lights

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
c172pl
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 5:48 pm

lights

Postby c172pl » Sat Sep 26, 2020 12:41 pm

I am flying p3d v5 and I noticed my headlights on all of my planes, both default and add-on from third party don't work when I turn them on. So, I can't fly at night. Any ideas how to fix this problem??? I am new to P3D. Thank you.
c172pl

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10051
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: lights

Postby Martyson » Sat Sep 26, 2020 1:57 pm

which P3D xxxx version ?

Watching this post
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

c172pl
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 5:48 pm

Re: lights

Postby c172pl » Sun Sep 27, 2020 12:12 am

which P3D xxxx version ? Sorry - I have p3d ver 5

Watching this post

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10051
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: lights

Postby Martyson » Sun Sep 27, 2020 12:17 am

which P3D xxxx version ? Sorry - I have p3d ver 5

Watching this post
@ c172pl ,

Which P3D 5 xxxx version ?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Gary Z.
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 7:37 am

Re: lights

Postby Gary Z. » Sun Sep 27, 2020 6:28 am

Yup, I bit the dust with the same problem. Took me 2 weeks to figure out what's happening. Shame on P3D development for allowing this software error to continue into version 5, unless they had a reason for doing this.

Maule M7 260C Paint 1, aircraft lights not working as installed in P3D v4.5. I'm surprised that P3Dv5 failed to fix this.

SOLUTION:
Find your Aircraft.cfg file in your P3D installation directory and open it with text document editor. Scroll to near bottom of file and look for [Lights] which will look like this:

[LIGHTS]
//Types: 1=beacon, 2=strobe, 3=navigation, 4=cockpit, 5=Landing, 6=taxi
//light.0 = 3, -1.23, -16.61, 3.08, fx_navred
//light.1 = 3, -1.23, 16.61, 3.08, fx_navgre
//light.2 = 3, -17.05, 0.00, 4.85, fx_navwhi
//light.3 = 2, -1.23, -16.61, 3.08, fx_strobe
//light.4 = 2, -1.23, 16.61, 3.08, fx_strobe
//light.5 = 4, -2.24, 0.00, 2.20, fx_vclight


The table above was provided by P3D's aircraft.cfg file, version Prepar3D version 4.5 and surprisingly v5 also. Light switches on Saitek switch panel operated properly with programming provided by Spad.neXt. However, switches failed to illuminate lights on aircraft because all six lighting lines were commented (with //) and therefore failed to execute. I removed slashes and lights then illuminated.

Modified the above table in aircraft.cfg with the following table for P3D's Maule M7 260C paint 1:
[LIGHTS]
//Types: 1=beacon, 2=strobe, 3=navigation, 4=cockpit, 5=landing, 6=taxi
// Axis: Lon Lat Vert Measured in feet from aircraft CG. Reset P3D profile after changes.
light.0 = 3, -1.23, -16.61, 2.60, fx_navred
light.1 = 3, -1.23, 16.61, 2.60, fx_navgre
light.2 = 3, -17.05, 0.00, 4.85, fx_navwhi
light.3 = 2, 1.50, -11.80, 2.00, fx_strobe //Left
light.4 = 2, 1.50, 11.80, 2.00, fx_strobe //Right
light.5 = 4, -2.24, 0.00, 2.20, fx_vclight //Cockpit panel
light.6 = 6, 0.00, 0.00, 2.80, fx_taxiBlue
light.7 = 5, 16.00, 0.00, -4.08, fx_landing
light.8 = 1, -14.50, 0.00, 4.50, fx_beacon //Upper
light.9 = 1, -8.00, 0.00, -1.00, fx_beacon //Lower

The following light circuit codes (column after the equal sign in the table above) apply per http://www.prepar3d.com/SDKv3/LearningC ... tml#lights.

Code Switch
1 Beacon
2 Strobe
3 Navigation or Position
4 Cockpit
5 Landing
6 Taxi
7 Recognition
8 Wing
9 Logo
10 Cabin
11 General
12 Headlight
13 Brake

The first entry of the line (light.0 to light.n) defines which light circuit, or switch, that
the light is connected to (see the code table above). Multiple lights
may be connected to a single switch. The next three entries Longitudinal,
lateral and height, respectively) is the light position on the aircraft relative to datum reference point.
The final entry is the special effect file name that is triggered (for example, fx_navred).
These files have .fx extensions and are located in my P3D installation folder:
H:\P3Dv4.5\Prepar3D_v4_Professional_4.5.13.32097\Effects

Positions of aircraft components are given relative to the datum reference point for the aircraft, in the order: longitudinal, lateral, vertical. The convention for positions is positive equals forward, to the right, and vertically upward. Units are in feet. The datum reference point itself is specified in the weight_and_balance section of the SDK document.

I fooled around adjusting the light position (for each light) for a long time. I started up P3D for my airplane at night or dusk sitting at airport parking and looked to where the light was positioned. If I did not like the position, I exited P3D and adjusted the 3 dimensional positions (Lon, Lat and Vert) as needed using a best guess for one or more lights. I then restarted P3D and looked again. Spent 2 days just adjusting all the lights with this iterative cycle. When done, I saved my flight profile.

Reply with any questions. This is not difficult, just a lot of work. Good luck, Gary Z.

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10051
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: lights

Postby Martyson » Sun Sep 27, 2020 10:19 am

@ Gary Z. ,

The OP did not say he had a problem with the Maule?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10051
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: lights

Postby Martyson » Sun Sep 27, 2020 11:02 am

@ Gary Z. ,

Just for follow up.
The Maule model / lights issues have been around for many years (e.g., back to FSX not just P3Dv4/5).
I do not modify the Maule's aircraft.cfg or any other default aircraft files.

Aircraft configuration files information:
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/previo ... dfrom=MSDN


https://www.avsim.com/forums/topic/66298-maule-lights/

https://www.avsim.com/forums/topic/6750 ... -lighting/

https://www.avsim.com/forums/topic/6646 ... le-lights/

https://a2asimulations.com/forum/viewto ... 32&t=10536
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Gary Z.
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 7:37 am

Re: lights

Postby Gary Z. » Mon Sep 28, 2020 1:24 am

OK, I understand now, aircraft lights are user discretionary. Thanks for the clarification and thanks for your quick reply and great support. Gary Z


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 98 guests