VERY odd joystick issue

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
fod
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 2:09 pm

VERY odd joystick issue

Postby fod » Fri Sep 18, 2020 7:00 pm

Been flying v5 for some months with FSLabs, NGXu and MJC q400 etc . Today I suddenly realised that when I pressed a button on the joystick which was assigned to a view change, it now also selected AP off. Note I do not have the AP assigned to any joystick button. This only occurs with FSLabs and PMDG - MJC and default ac are ok.

So far I have:

Reinstalled my main joystick X52 pro
Uninstalled/reinstalled NGXu
Uninstalled and cleared out EZDOK
RemovedFSUIPC 6 (no buttons assigned anyway)
Rebuilt P3D cfg controls xml files
Tried a second (Logitech) joystick with exactly the same problem.
Confirmed that no joystick buttons are assigned to Z

Note au also have 4.5 on another hdd - here the joystick is working correctly

Grateful for any advice before I go for a full clean uninstall / reinstall of v5 .....

Many thanks

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10051
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: VERY odd joystick issue

Postby Martyson » Fri Sep 18, 2020 7:06 pm

@ fod .

Do you use FSUIPC ?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

fod
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 2:09 pm

Re: VERY odd joystick issue

Postby fod » Fri Sep 18, 2020 7:30 pm

Fsuipc was installed but not used for axis assignment (never do) As I said I removed it but this had no effect - problem remained.

Aussie1234
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:12 am

Re: VERY odd joystick issue

Postby Aussie1234 » Fri Sep 18, 2020 11:22 pm

Wonder if you could try actually assigning AP Off/On toggle etc. to another joystick button and then delete it? The assignment might be hidden?
Aussie
Image

fod
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 2:09 pm

Re: VERY odd joystick issue

Postby fod » Sat Sep 19, 2020 2:47 pm

Thanks - I had tried that to no effect,
However, I have found something even stranger - if I delete the AP master key assignment (ie delete Z) - pressing the z key still switches the AP off on the NGXu in v5 and of course the joystick button does the same? However for “simpler” aircraft - default and even including MJC Q400 - z key and joystick react as expected.
Now done a clean reinstall of V5 and NGXu and the problem remains! Something obviously happened yesterday when I was flying
But I cannot fathom what it could be ..........

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10051
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: VERY odd joystick issue

Postby Martyson » Sat Sep 19, 2020 2:57 pm

Thanks - I had tried that to no effect,
However, I have found something even stranger - if I delete the AP master key assignment (ie delete Z) - pressing the z key still switches the AP off on the NGXu in v5 and of course the joystick button does the same? However for “simpler” aircraft - default and even including MJC Q400 - z key and joystick react as expected.
Now done a clean reinstall of V5 and NGXu and the problem remains! Something obviously happened yesterday when I was flying
But I cannot fathom what it could be ..........
@ fod,
With PMDG the Z key is assigned (CDU options/menu/setup) by default.
You can delete it there or re-assign the function.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

fod
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 2:09 pm

Re: VERY odd joystick issue

Postby fod » Sat Sep 19, 2020 4:31 pm

Very Many thanks Vaughan - I missed that ( cocky and didn’t think I needed to go thro all those many many confit settings available) even after xxx years simming I still need to be reminded to RTFM
Now - I wonder if that somehow affects the joysticks - here we go.

fod
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 2:09 pm

Re: VERY odd joystick issue

Postby fod » Sun Sep 27, 2020 8:31 am

Following your reply, thought it might be something to do with PMDG which also assigns the z key.
However, it was more devious - turned out to be a corrupt EZDOK3 - a reinstall solved it!

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10051
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: VERY odd joystick issue

Postby Martyson » Sun Sep 27, 2020 10:10 am

@ fod ,

You are welcome.

I have not had that problem with Ezdok and I cannot recall it ever being reported.

Glad to hear your problem is resolved.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: clive6354 and 86 guests