Endless Errors in v5

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
jonmal
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 4:00 pm

Endless Errors in v5

Postby jonmal » Wed Sep 02, 2020 4:28 pm

Hello,
I have recently moved from 4.5 to 5 and have the latest version.
I can hardly complete a flight without a crash. DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG. Events log reads "Display Driver nvldllmkm stopped working and has successfully recovered."

Windows 10 (up to date) 16MB RAM
Intel Core i7-6700 @ 3.4GHZ
Graphics Nvidea GForce 980 4MB / Driver 452.06 Overclocking stopped.

Orbyx. Base Pack. Open LC Europe. Trees HD
I have the Regions England and Scotland but the problem persists after uninstalling them. (and the scenery looks poor without them)
I would really appreciate any help if a fix is possible and before I go back to 4.5.
Thanks

John

JorgenSA
Posts: 2467
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Endless Errors in v5

Postby JorgenSA » Wed Sep 02, 2020 5:21 pm

What Windows 10 version does "up to date" mean? It should be v. 2004 at least.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

jonmal
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 4:00 pm

Re: Endless Errors in v5

Postby jonmal » Wed Sep 02, 2020 5:31 pm

Frightfully sorry!
Versiom 10.0.1941 Build 19041

Kaiii3
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 1:14 pm

Re: Endless Errors in v5

Postby Kaiii3 » Wed Sep 02, 2020 6:11 pm

1. update your windows
2. Reduce the scenery/graphic options in your Sim

I have the same GPU and after reducing some settings I have no more problems flying in v5. Autoget density had the biggest impact on my spare VRAM compared to other Settigs. To test some stuff, enable the VRAM monitor in the game and then start adjusting your settings. After some time you will have the settings that will let your system run without VRAM OOMs
Image

jonmal
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 4:00 pm

Re: Endless Errors in v5

Postby jonmal » Wed Sep 02, 2020 8:15 pm

My Windows is updated and I monitor my vram usage and there has never been a shortage, never use more than two thirds. I don't get OOM messages. My settings are not high.

Martyson
Posts: 9620
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Endless Errors in v5

Postby Martyson » Wed Sep 02, 2020 8:20 pm

@ jonmal ,

Did WIN 10 notify you that an Update is available for your system?


You could review / run through all the General Debugging Steps :
https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 2&t=123246
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

jonmal
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 4:00 pm

Re: Endless Errors in v5

Postby jonmal » Wed Sep 02, 2020 8:29 pm

I have no updates pending for Windows and I have done the suggested steps.
I'm not really getting anywhere am I?

Martyson
Posts: 9620
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Endless Errors in v5

Postby Martyson » Wed Sep 02, 2020 10:41 pm

I have no updates pending for Windows and I have done the suggested steps.
I'm not really getting anywhere am I?
@ jonmal ,

Why are you still on an old WIN 10 version?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

JorgenSA
Posts: 2467
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Endless Errors in v5

Postby JorgenSA » Thu Sep 03, 2020 7:14 am

Jonmal,

In order to avoid this DXGI error, you will need Windows 10 to be at version 2004. The reason for that is that version 2004 contains important upgrades to DirectX 12. It is kind of odd that this is not being offered to you by Windows Update, unless you have a country- or language-specific Windows 10?

Your graphics driver is fine.

One thing you should also do in Windows Update: under "Advanced options" make sure the switch "Receive updates for other Microsoft products" is set to On.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Martyson
Posts: 9620
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Endless Errors in v5

Postby Martyson » Thu Sep 03, 2020 8:38 am

@ jonmal ,

You mentioned :
"I can hardly complete a flight without a crash. DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG. Events log reads "Display Driver nvldllmkm stopped working and has successfully recovered."

So, some flights are error free.

Are you experiencing low FPS (frames per second) on your flights).

Do you have FPS locked e.g. at 29 (that is my setting)?

What is the difference between the flights with and without errors?

Do the errors ever "crash" your flight?

What software were you using to check and overclock your video card.

Note:
A Win10 update may not fix your problem but it would eliminate it as a cause.
I never had problems with my older WIN10 version.
And, some pilots with the newest WIN10 version are still having some problems.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

jonmal
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 4:00 pm

Re: Endless Errors in v5

Postby jonmal » Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:08 am

Sorry I seem to have misled you on my Windows Status.
My Edition is Windows 10 Home
Version 2004
Installed on 19/06/2020
OS build 19041.450
Experience Windows Feature Experience Pack 120.2212.31.0

I always let Updater run the show!

Square 1?

John

Martyson
Posts: 9620
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Endless Errors in v5

Postby Martyson » Thu Sep 03, 2020 11:12 am

John,

Like I mentioned :
some pilots with the newest WIN10 version are still having some problems.
yourself included now.

I had asked a few questions (above)?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

jonmal
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 4:00 pm

Re: Endless Errors in v5

Postby jonmal » Thu Sep 03, 2020 11:45 am

Hello Martyson
Answering the Questions:
Low FPS: No I had it set to unlimited but now set to 40. Doesn't seem to struggle except sometimes a brief stutter. VRAM use is around 2.5 of 3.4.

Flights that are OK: A bit random but mostly crashes are in areas of detailed scenery. Main culprit is London. Sometimes crashes on LOADING London City Airport. I flew down from EDIN to London and it was OK until "Cleared to Land" I could see the airport then CRASH! When it crashes it crashes the SIM. Events Log always shows the error I mentioned at the beginning.

I don't have software for overclocking. The PC came with the card overclocked a bit. I use Debug mode in the NVIDEA Control Panel to switch it to factory default in case the overclocked GPU is the culprit.

I have used the settings from RD Presets but I'm not sure if they need tweaking for ORBX Scenery. I just flew from Tokyo which was OK but as it is off my ORBX areas except Global Base Pack the scenery detail was sparse.

Thanks for your help.

Tony kim
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 1:01 am

Re: Endless Errors in v5

Postby Tony kim » Sat Sep 05, 2020 2:30 am

I installed win10 2004 version

but still got the DXGI error with GTX1070

RobCom
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 10:52 pm
Location: USA Fla KTPA/X39

Re: Endless Errors in v5

Postby RobCom » Sun Sep 06, 2020 10:41 am

Drop your Graphics setting "Texture resolution" to Medium-1024x1024 (<----through ALL of my testing, anything higher than THIS is the killer even with 8GB VRam), turn OFF that Enhanced Atmospherics until it comes out of experimental "Beta", Set your World sliders to what I have mine set to (MAYBE even lower some of them to high or medium), see what happens.

It will still look awesome trust me

Image
EVGA Z390 Dark ; i9 9900k ; 32gig Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200 ; EVGA 2080 RTX XC ; Creative SB Audigy Rx


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Martyson, Søren Rasmussen and 80 guests