P3D5 HF2 issues with VR

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2167
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: P3D5 HF2 issues with VR

Postby Beau Hollis » Mon Jul 27, 2020 1:19 pm

Another update:
1) We can't reproduce this in our latest dev build. We've made other updates to SinglePass which likely resolved this.
2) While we haven't changed the underlying caching behavior in the engine, we were able to adjust the order of initialization in VR to help reduce the size of the memory spike. There was one frame where the VR views were created using default sizes before the final resolution was pulled from the VR interface.
3) We can work around this by leaving the VR session active when disabling VR. Unfortunately that means that in your headset it will say that it's waiting on P3D to respond because we have suspended rendering without shutting down VR.
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

truthknown
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 6:25 pm

Re: P3D5 HF2 issues with VR

Postby truthknown » Mon Jul 27, 2020 2:57 pm

Thanks Beau!

1 - Awesome!
2 - Sounds promising. Is this part of the core engine as well or something we may be able to see fixed in a quick VR Hotfix?
3 - I think that is acceptable, at least to me. So long as the memory VR uses is released in full. When I disable VR in the sim, I put the headset down and am no longer using it, so what is being shown in the headset is irrelevant. Ultimately, Steamvr is going to stop rendering to the headset once it detects that its not being worn/used.

Thanks for all the attention to getting these issues fixed! I am longing to be able to use P3D5 in my full normal usage patterns. For now, i've been mostly sticking with P3D4.5 but the performance differences have become so noticeable for me now that its making things frustrating... Still hoping we get a resolution to the sim crashing when the VRAM budget is depleted.

Thanks,
Chris

jellef
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat May 23, 2020 10:15 am

Re: P3D5 HF2 issues with VR

Postby jellef » Tue Sep 01, 2020 9:11 pm

Beau,

It has been over a month since your last reply. We are still awaiting a fix for this problem!

Jelle

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2167
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: P3D5 HF2 issues with VR

Postby Beau Hollis » Thu Sep 03, 2020 12:44 pm

Sorry for the delay in response. Unfortunately, our current development build of the VR is incompatible with v5.0 HF2 because it also contains new features, uses updated SDKs, had new settings, etc.
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

B777ER
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat May 14, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: P3D5 HF2 issues with VR

Postby B777ER » Thu Sep 03, 2020 8:47 pm

Sorry for the delay in response. Unfortunately, our current development build of the VR is incompatible with v5.0 HF2 because it also contains new features, uses updated SDKs, had new settings, etc.
No worries Beau. Just release 5.1 and it will all be sorted. 😁
Eric

benji53
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 4:07 am

Re: P3D5 HF2 issues with VR

Postby benji53 » Sat Oct 17, 2020 7:58 am

Sorry for the delay in response. Unfortunately, our current development build of the VR is incompatible with v5.0 HF2 because it also contains new features, uses updated SDKs, had new settings, etc.
Beau, Just to chime in here. I too, and having issues with P3Dv5 in VR. In my case, I get the dreaded This device
(NVIDEA GeForce GTX 1080) stopped working for the following reason: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG. This occures only on a few third party scenery packages. For example FlyTampa-Vegas, ORBX Honolulu CityScape together with FSDT Honolulu International (ORBX alone still crashes) and Drzewiecki Washington X. I use the Samsung Odyssy Plus with WMR and SteamVR and this problem does not really happen when flying in the default scenery or in Megascenery Earth or ORBX Austrailia V2 or YMMl Melborne Intrrnational V3, Drzewiecki New York City X or FlyTampa-Sydney so it's really puzzling where the problem is. But the fact this problem only occures in VR and only on some third party add-ons might be a clue. Thanks for your time. Dale

MPO910
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 5:00 am

Re: P3D5 HF2 issues with VR

Postby MPO910 » Sat Oct 17, 2020 2:06 pm

There is another thread opened with the title CTD after loading the scenery. Look at this too. I strongly believe we are talking about the same issues and ctd. I am using WMR too. Read my last post about this and Out see that the process and setup are very similar. WMR is causing problems since 9. Oct 2020. If You click yes on the error message and leave the sim you probably get also the gd2.dll error at the windows Eventviewer. Loading add-ons with WMR causes this crash. Loading this without WMR does not crash. Loading WMR and standard scenery and planes does not crash. So WMR in combo with qw787 or Aerosoft 330 in my case crashes the sim. WMR with raptor 22 and YBCS OR any other airport no problems. Very annoying and even revert to a previous image from before the 9. Oct. Did not solve my issues. And it has to be said that my v5 was running very very stable without a single ctd prior the 9.oct. the only change I had from the 9. Oct. was windows updates and nvidia drivers update. They where succeafull installed more than once and probably influencing or even the cause of this ctd.

I do need some help because I ran out of solutions.
Marcus

MPO910
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 5:00 am

Re: P3D5 HF2 issues with VR

Postby MPO910 » Sat Oct 17, 2020 2:35 pm

Here is the link to my post wich I think is related to the same issue
https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 60#p228660


Marcus

System specs

Prepar3D_v5_Academic_5.0.31.35253

Edition Windows 10 Home
Version 2004
Installed on 20201011
OS Build 19041.572
Windows Feature Experience Pack 120.2212.31.0

Latest Nvidia Drivers

i9 10900K @ 5.0 Ghz | HT OFF | 1.32V
Mainboard ASUS ROG Maximus XII Formula Z490
32 GB RAM 3600 Mhz Corsair Vengeance | 4x8GB
RTX Titan 24GB
32" Samsung UHD Monitor using 4k
Custom Water Cooling | 2x 360MM | 1x 240MM Radiator
HP Reverb v2 VR HMD | Steam VR

Main Addons

ASP3D | 7514 Open Beta
ChasePlane | Via ORBX
FSReborn Prof.
GSX 2
FSUIPC6
AIGAIM | Latest Version
SODE | Latest Version
MultiCrewExperience | Latest Version
Aerosoft Airbus A330 | Latest Version
Aerosoft Airbus A320/321 | Latest Version
PMDG 747/748 | Latest Version
QW787 | Latest Version
FSLABS A320X | Latest Version
FSLABS A321X | Latest Version
Navigraph Charts
ORBX Base
ORBX LC
ORBX TE NL
ORBX TE NCA
ORBX Regions
ORBX HD Buildings
ORBX HD Trees V1 & V2
REALTURB | All Continents
+200 Addon Aiports | via .xml method added

MPO910
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 5:00 am

Re: P3D5 HF2 issues with VR

Postby MPO910 » Sat Oct 17, 2020 7:54 pm

UPDATE: I uninstalled and installed my Chipset driver (ASUS Z490/Intel Chipset) and after two tests I had no CTD so far.

The only device I turned off before was my HMD. Just closed the WMR App before uninstalling and installing the Intel Chipset driver again. In my case a "Intel_Chipset_Software_Utility_V10.1.18263.8193_WIN10_64-bit".

Maybe some others can solve their G2D.DLL Error too.

NOTE: I did just 2 tests with cases where prior my P3D V5 would CTD as mentioned in my previous posts. I will do some further testing and report back afterwards.

Marcus

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2167
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: P3D5 HF2 issues with VR

Postby Beau Hollis » Wed Oct 28, 2020 7:57 pm

5.1 is out. In addition to remedies already mentioned, we've added a 90 frame blackout when VR is enabled to give the main view resources time to page out our resource cache.

Thanks
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

truthknown
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 6:25 pm

Re: P3D5 HF2 issues with VR

Postby truthknown » Sat Oct 31, 2020 10:43 pm

Thanks Beau! Definitely not seeing the memory leak issue anymore and single pass doesnt provide a spike that crashes the sim. I am able to go in and out of VR just fine now.

New Issue:
In single pass mode, when in the cockpit, it looks as if the plane and the scenery are floating in the air. In stereo mode, this does not happen.

Thanks,
Chris

truthknown
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 6:25 pm

Re: P3D5 HF2 issues with VR

Postby truthknown » Sun Nov 01, 2020 5:50 am

Also noticed some other things:

While in the PMDG 737 using VR at night, the parking brake was set. In the left eye I could see the reflection of the red light on the panel around the light and it was a lot. On the right eye, there was no reflection at all on the panel. So combined, it was a bit weird. Seeing lighting issues between left and right eyes also in the FSL A320 cockpit.

IN the QW 787 and AS 330, the cockpit shimmers significantly. The text on the panels and displays are pretty much unreadable at a distance, gets better if i move my head closer to what I'm trying to read. I think this has more to do with TDFI Real Light than it has to do with the 5.1 update. I don't have this problem in the PMDG 737 and the FSL A320 to an extent.

Chris

MPO910
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 5:00 am

Re: P3D5 HF2 issues with VR and V5.1

Postby MPO910 » Sun Nov 01, 2020 7:28 am

Hello @Beau

I would also like to report a few things within VR, WMR HP Reverb within Single Pass Rendering. Stereo no issues
Dynamic lights are set on
Dynamic reflections settings (off, low medium high ultra) do not have an influence on this.
The following rendering issues are regardless the FPS. 45+ or 30+ or even 70 to 90+ FPS within VR mode on can be maintained.
Within Steam VR smoothing is enabled
EA Mode on
Issues are only seen within VR. If VR is set to "on" and you take a look at your normal screen/display or you use the HMD emulator, it is NOT visible.

FOG/High humidity
This is rendered different in both eyes. It seems the picture in the left eye is slightly "offset" compared to the right eye

Dynamic lights (at Airports for example)
This is gotten improved within P3D V5.1. But still there seem to be also a difference between the dynamic lights between left and right eye. If I recall correctly, the left eye shows also "the boundary" of all the rendered dynamic lights. The lights are all visible in both eyes. But in one eye (mean left) the boundary of each light is visible seen as an sharp edge from top to down of the light "surface"

Rendered spotlights within the A320X and A321X from FSLabs
As there are other issues with "light" rendering I will post this also here. Even if I am not sure it is a FSLabs issue or P3D
The spotlights within the plane have, depended on the angle you look at them, also a different "spot of the rendered light within the HMD" compared between the left and right eye. Right seems to be correct rendered. In the left eye the "left spotlight, so left from the MFD/PFD, is offset to the right. So in the left eye I see the spotlight to much "right". The total look is a bit weird.

Rendered lights within the Aerosoft A330
Here counts the same as written within the FSLabs section. Also the lights are different rendered.
There are also PBR/Reflection issues within this cockpit and on the surface of FSLabs and Aerosoft PBR materials. But I assume this is another issue. But the PBR surfaces, regardless inside the cockpit or outside the plane, seems to have to much "chrome polish". At least it looks like that. Too Shiny and like a "chrome layer on top of all PBR surfaces.

I do hope I could make myself clear an this is understandable written. If you need more information don´t hesitate to ask.

Regards Marcus

System specs

Prepar3D_v5_Academic_5.1.8.26742

Edition Windows 10 Home
Version 2004
Installed on 20201025
OS Build 19042.572
Windows Feature Experience Pack 120.2212.31.0

Latest Nvidia Drivers

i9 10900K @ 5.0 Ghz | HT OFF | 1.32V
Mainboard ASUS ROG Maximus XII Formula Z490
32 GB RAM 3600 Mhz Corsair Vengeance | 4x8GB
RTX Titan 24GB
32" Samsung UHD Monitor using 4k
Custom Water Cooling | 2x 360MM | 1x 240MM Radiator
HP Reverb v2 VR HMD | Steam VR

Main Addons

ASP3D | 7514 Open Beta - TEMP Uninstalled due Incopat. with P3D latest Version 5.1
FSRGW
ChasePlane | Via ORBX
FSReborn Prof.
GSX 2
FSUIPC6
AIGAIM | Latest Version
SODE | Latest Version
MultiCrewExperience | Latest Version
Aerosoft Airbus A330 | Latest Version
Aerosoft Airbus A320/321 | Latest Version
PMDG 747/748 | Latest Version
QW787 | Latest Version
FSLABS A320X | Latest Version
FSLABS A321X | Latest Version
Navigraph Charts
ORBX Base
ORBX LC
ORBX TE NL
ORBX TE NCA
ORBX Regions
ORBX HD Buildings
ORBX HD Trees V1 & V2
REALTURB | All Continents
+200 Addon Aiports | via .xml method added

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2167
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: P3D5 HF2 issues with VR

Postby Beau Hollis » Tue Nov 03, 2020 6:33 pm

Thanks all for the additional reports.
Chris,
Can you post a screenshot of the floating behavior you're seeing?
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

MPO910
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 5:00 am

Re: P3D5 HF2 issues with VR

Postby MPO910 » Tue Nov 03, 2020 7:42 pm

P3D V5.1 3 further issues:

When using FSLabs there is sometimes at ground ops a short flicker/jitter at the right eye only within single pass
Sometimes, only when using addon FSLabs, during Ground OPS the right eye has a very short jitter (very short) and only at the right eye. It is like it´s missing one single frame but shows "during this jitter" probably the left eyes image (as it seems, but it is going real fast and only just "one" jitter at each time. The iteration this shows up is round about every 2 to 3 seconds and only at groundops. Frames are round about 45 in the sim and regardless the inside and outside views. Motion smoothnes at Steam WMR is on and I use the "non legacy" reprojection method within the Steam WMR VR settings.

This occurs only in singlepass not in stereo.

Stable FPS ONLY with FSLABS A321 and 320
Remarkable is, that ONLY with the FSLABS A321 and FSLabs 320 I can have this smooth experience. The Sim FPS are also much more stable! Using Stock LM P3D planes or other addons like Aerosoft A330, the FPS is very fluctuating and I think this influences the frametime output (Spikes) of the HMD via WMR Steam VR. Using HMD HP Reverb with WMR and FSLabs I can maintain very stable 21 to 22 ms out of 11.0 ms frametime and the further image rendering is very very smooth. Especially at flight

But I do only have this smoothness at the FSLabs (they do use a own AM?? I am not sure).

Other Addon planes AND Stock ones have much more fluctuation/jumping FPS over high ranges
All the other planes, stock and other addons, are having some short framespikes every 1 or 2 seconds which will trigger a very short jitter (ones) in the HMD view and therefore the rendering in the HMD is less smooth. It is a little irritating.

The Sim P3D FPS are ranging from 30 to 80 with 40 to 45 in average (only for these planes, FSLABS has very stable FPS and almost not jumpy!!)! So they are very high with VR on. But more jumping like in the previous P3D V5 HF2 version.

Frametimes ranging from 14ms to 26ms with an average between 18ms and 21ms with these other planes incl stock ones like F22 or F16

FOG or High Humidity/Rain(?9 within Single pass or stereo Mode panning at high flight levels like FL 150 upwards

he FOG layer above ground textures are very flickering and strange rendered. Within the HMD the fog is much thicker on the "inner sides" of the HMD lenses. The outside from the left and right lens, shows less fog with lots of noise.

Panning around does not influence this behaviour. The outside of both lenses stay less foggier compared to the inside (NOSE Side) of the lenses.

Fog rendered in this way is unusable and a pain in the eyes. This noise is also visible on your normal monitor (I use a 4K Freesync).

No P3D CFG tweaks at all. No Nvidia profiles. No GFX Card OC.

Regards Marcus

System specs

Prepar3D_v5_Academic_5.1.8.26742

Edition Windows 10 Home
Version 2004
Installed on 20201025
OS Build 19042.572
Windows Feature Experience Pack 120.2212.31.0

Latest Nvidia Drivers

i9 10900K @ 5.0 Ghz | HT OFF | 1.32V
Mainboard ASUS ROG Maximus XII Formula Z490
32 GB RAM 3600 Mhz Corsair Vengeance | 4x8GB
RTX Titan 24GB NO OC
32" Samsung UHD Monitor using 4k
Custom Water Cooling | 2x 360MM | 1x 240MM Radiator
HP Reverb v2 VR HMD | Steam VR

Main Addons

ASP3D | 7514 Open Beta - TEMP Uninstalled due Incopat. with P3D latest Version 5.1
FSRGW
ChasePlane | Via ORBX
FSReborn Prof.
GSX 2
FSUIPC6
AIGAIM | Latest Version
SODE | Latest Version
MultiCrewExperience | Latest Version
Aerosoft Airbus A330 | Latest Version
Aerosoft Airbus A320/321 | Latest Version
PMDG 747/748 | Latest Version
QW787 | Latest Version
FSLABS A320X | Latest Version
FSLABS A321X | Latest Version
Navigraph Charts
ORBX Base
ORBX LC
ORBX TE NL
ORBX TE NCA
ORBX Regions
ORBX HD Buildings
ORBX HD Trees V1 & V2
REALTURB | All Continents
+200 Addon Aiports | via .xml method added


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: pestridge77 and 75 guests