Page 1 of 13

V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Posted: Sat May 30, 2020 10:45 am
by kjbersas
Hi

Sometimes, when using the ATC-window in Prepar3d V5 HF1, P3D crashes giving the following logs:

Programnavn med feil: Prepar3D.exe, versjon: 5.0.24.34874, tidsangivelse: 0x5eab3677
Modulnavn med feil: VCRUNTIME140.dll, versjon: 14.25.28508.3, tidsangivelse: 0x5e155520
Unntakskode: 0xc0000005
Feilforskyvning: 0x00000000000012de
Feil prosess-ID: 0x940
Feil starttid for program: 0x01d6351a291d154d
Feil programbane: E:\Prepar3Dv5\Prepar3D.exe
Feil modulbane: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\VCRUNTIME140.dll
Rapport-ID: dad6a125-d6d3-48d0-a68b-cd908c8cb6ba
Fullstendig navn på feilpakke:
Relativ program-ID for feilpakke:

Application: Prepar3D.exe
Framework Version: v4.0.30319
Description: The process was terminated due to an unhandled exception.
Exception Info: exception code c0000005, exception address 00007FFBACC212DE

This applies both to default aircraft and add-on aircraft.
Latest Windows version and GPU-drivers from Nvidia are installed.

Anyone with a solution/suggestion to solving this?

Kind regards,

Kjell A.

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Posted: Sat May 30, 2020 10:57 am
by JorgenSA
Kjell,

There are actually to different errors here, one dealing with Visual C++ Runtime, and the other with the .NET Framework.

The quick and dirty solution to this is to go to Microsoft, and download everything you can find there for C++ and for the .NET Framework, and get both the x86 and the x64 versions.

After everything has been installed, then run Windows Update, and make sure that under "Advanced options" in Windows Update the switch "Get updates for other Microsoft products" is set to On.

After updating, test again.

Jorgen

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Posted: Sat Jun 06, 2020 8:03 pm
by airbader
I got the VCRUNTIM140.DLL crash when opening the GSX window, so I assume it can happen anytime you open a SimConnect window.

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Posted: Sun Jun 07, 2020 9:33 am
by pestridge77
This was resolved by me reinstalling the Microsoft Visual C++ 2015-2019 for both 86 and 64 bit.....

If you havent got these already installed, simply google them and download them from Microsoft

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Posted: Sun Jun 07, 2020 11:30 am
by gkollmann
I got the VCRUNTIM140.DLL crash when opening the GSX window

Same here, twice today with the Maddog X when selecting things on the GSX menu! There is a topic about this subject on the GSX forum, however viruali claims that GSX can not crash Prepar3D.
Reinstalling Microsoft Visual C++ does not solve the problem. I reinstalled my redistributables several times over the last few days. I think it is also hard to believe that so many different people have messed up C++ installations on their PCs that this could be the root cause of this problem. I try a different aircraft now.

Regards
Gerhard

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Posted: Sun Jun 07, 2020 12:32 pm
by kjbersas
Here's what I've done so far:
- Reinstalled latest Nvidia drivers.
- Checked .NET installation (no errors).
- Uninstalled all the old and current C++ Redist versions, then run the FSDT live updater (which installs the required C++ versions).

I think it's the last item that may have done the trick. So far I have had no more CTD's. Earlier I have been able to reproduce them by slewing in the default F-35 and opening the ATC-window frequently.

I have to test P3D over the next days to be sure that I've repaired this problem. I did not get the CTD in every session before, just a few times.

And just to mention, I have not had any CTD's regarding the GSX-window, only the ATC-window.

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2020 9:08 am
by kjbersas
So I got another VCRUNTIME140.dll CTD when opening the ATC-window today.
Then I'm out of ideas, and I'll just wait for a HF from LM, maybe it has a solutions for this.

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2020 2:13 pm
by Sky_King
I'm having the same problem. Happens randomly. All software is up to date. Happens to me when ATC calls me for a freq change, etc.

Hopefully we will hear something from LM.

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2020 2:25 pm
by micstatic
same here. When it happens it's when I'm either clicking request pushback in GSX or request stairs. Just tried uninstalling and reinstalling gsx and re downloading the distributables. We will see. Since it doesn't happen every time I won't know for a while if that fixed it.

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2020 5:54 pm
by kjbersas
Hi all,

Even with a fresh clean & installation of P3D V5 HF2, I experience CTD when opening the ATC window after a time in the sim. I have tested with and without GSX (and Addon Manager), reinstalled VC runtime and checked Frameworks. Is there any who have installed HF2 and have had any fresh experiences around this issue?

What could cause this?

Kind regards,

Kjell A.

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2020 6:06 pm
by airbader
Hi all,

Even with a fresh clean & installation of P3D V5 HF2, I experience CTD when opening the ATC window after a time in the sim. I have tested with and without GSX (and Addon Manager), reinstalled VC runtime and checked Frameworks. Is there any who have installed HF2 and have had any fresh experiences around this issue?

What could cause this?

Kind regards,

Kjell A.
Oof, that's such a bummer to hear.

Well, there's always 5.1...

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2020 6:58 pm
by Martyson
Hi all,

Even with a fresh clean & installation of P3D V5 HF2, I experience CTD when opening the ATC window after a time in the sim. I have tested with and without GSX (and Addon Manager), reinstalled VC runtime and checked Frameworks. Is there any who have installed HF2 and have had any fresh experiences around this issue?

What could cause this?

Kind regards,

Kjell A.
"I experience CTD when opening the ATC window after a time in the sim."

If you could be a little more specific I (and other pilots) could test what you are doing.

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2020 7:03 pm
by airbader
Hi all,

Even with a fresh clean & installation of P3D V5 HF2, I experience CTD when opening the ATC window after a time in the sim. I have tested with and without GSX (and Addon Manager), reinstalled VC runtime and checked Frameworks. Is there any who have installed HF2 and have had any fresh experiences around this issue?

What could cause this?

Kind regards,

Kjell A.
"I experience CTD when opening the ATC window after a time in the sim."

If you could be a little more specific I (and other pilots) could test what you are doing.
There's really nothing more to it. You open a SimConnect window. P3D goes bye.

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2020 7:26 pm
by Martyson
Hi all,

Even with a fresh clean & installation of P3D V5 HF2, I experience CTD when opening the ATC window after a time in the sim. I have tested with and without GSX (and Addon Manager), reinstalled VC runtime and checked Frameworks. Is there any who have installed HF2 and have had any fresh experiences around this issue?

What could cause this?

Kind regards,

Kjell A.
"I experience CTD when opening the ATC window after a time in the sim."

If you could be a little more specific I (and other pilots) could test what you are doing.
There's really nothing more to it. You open a SimConnect window. P3D goes bye.
@ airbader,

ATC opened ok for me.

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2020 7:39 pm
by airbader


"I experience CTD when opening the ATC window after a time in the sim."

If you could be a little more specific I (and other pilots) could test what you are doing.
There's really nothing more to it. You open a SimConnect window. P3D goes bye.
@ airbader,

ATC opened ok for me.
Yes, and sometimes it crashes for some of us.