V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
JorgenSA
Posts: 2696
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby JorgenSA » Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:58 am

You want to have a professional support staff, employed by L-M?

That is fine... with that comes a professional qualification team, dedicated to testing and approving add-ons for P3D.

Now, the support team will only support P3D with approved add-ons - anything else installed, no support.

Any beta products of any kind installed - no support.

Any non-approved hardware and OS version etc. - no support.

A support team does not generate any revenue, corporate-speaking it is a loss-center, and the limitations above are there to prevent generating more losses than it already does. A support team member that goes beyond those limitations will face termination of employment.

And by the way, are you prepared to pay around $99.99 (or more) for the Academic version, and $499.99 (or more) for the Professional version?

I thought not.... so there the whole business goes down the drain, no development, no support, no P3D, no nothing.

Welcome to the World of Corporate Reality.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

airbader
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 4:49 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby airbader » Sat Jul 04, 2020 3:08 am

Again.

Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 5.0.31.35253, time stamp: 0x5eebf566
Faulting module name: VCRUNTIME140.dll, version: 14.26.28720.3, time stamp: 0x5e74aeb1
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000000000000137b
Faulting process id: 0x1808
Faulting application start time: 0x01d651a546e28741
Faulting application path: D:\Prepar3D V5\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\VCRUNTIME140.dll
Report Id: b58ede15-99e0-491b-92cd-c85e93779d31
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

JorgenSA
Posts: 2696
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby JorgenSA » Sat Jul 04, 2020 8:20 am

As EllipticCurve pointed out in another thread, this:

Exception code: 0xc0000005

in this context means someone did something really bad - writing to an area of memory where he shouldn't.

So, is Windows 10 up to v. 2004?

Are your graphics card drivers up to the latest level?

And, exactly what were you doing when this crash happened, including what airplane were you flying?

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Perfectflight
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2019 3:25 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Perfectflight » Sun Jul 12, 2020 9:07 pm

I have it every time I fly, so I switched back to v4
with these errors the v5 is unusable for me
it is absolutely no fun when I trigger gsx, or activesky windows and prepar3dv5 crashes.

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10002
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Martyson » Mon Jul 13, 2020 9:34 am

I have it every time I fly, so I switched back to v4
with these errors the v5 is unusable for me
it is absolutely no fun when I trigger gsx, or activesky windows and prepar3dv5 crashes.
@ Perfectflight ,

Are you using P3Dv5HF2 ATC ?

Is your gsx the basic or full (payware) version?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Perfectflight
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2019 3:25 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Perfectflight » Mon Jul 13, 2020 4:50 pm

Hello,
yes HT 2 and don't use ATC
GSX full version
active SKY full version
according to the gsx forum, there are also several problems

JorgenSA
Posts: 2696
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby JorgenSA » Mon Jul 13, 2020 5:04 pm

Active Sky, as far as I know, is also still beta.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Perfectflight
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2019 3:25 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Perfectflight » Mon Jul 13, 2020 5:17 pm

Active Sky, as far as I know, is also still beta.

Jorgen
yes, and both programs are also designed for the v4
v4 works without problems

Sky_King
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:27 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Sky_King » Tue Jul 14, 2020 9:09 pm

LM staff -- please also see https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 4&t=138672

I sent you a message suggesting these two threads be combined since they deal with the same subject.

-SK
Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK,Black Edition Motherboard; Intel I7-4790K CPU; 16 Gb G.Skill RAM (F3-2400); Win 10 Pro (1909); 2 - Samsung 1Tb SSDs; Toshiba 3Tb hard drive; Gigabyte 1080ti Extreme 11 Gb VRAM. P3D v5 HF2

FrLoio95
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2020 11:31 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby FrLoio95 » Wed Jul 15, 2020 11:34 am

Same crash as reported, when opening the GSX or ActiveSky window. Seems to be a common issue, any solutions so far?

JorgenSA
Posts: 2696
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby JorgenSA » Wed Jul 15, 2020 11:38 am

See above - both Active Sky and GSX are not qualified as v. 5 compatible yet, therefore this has to be expected.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

FrLoio95
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2020 11:31 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby FrLoio95 » Wed Jul 15, 2020 11:52 am

See above - both Active Sky and GSX are not qualified as v. 5 compatible yet, therefore this has to be expected.

Jorgen
I think this is not related with GSX or Active Sky, since this also happens with the default ATC menu. I imagine this is related with the transparent menus of P3D.

In the GSX forum, the developers said that was a P3D problem and not an addon related, and the latest GSX release is compatible with P3Dv5.

airbader
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 4:49 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby airbader » Wed Jul 15, 2020 1:36 pm

See above - both Active Sky and GSX are not qualified as v. 5 compatible yet, therefore this has to be expected.

Jorgen
This is completely false and incorrect. Stop being wrong.

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10002
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Martyson » Wed Jul 15, 2020 1:48 pm

Same crash as reported, when opening the GSX or ActiveSky window. Seems to be a common issue, any solutions so far?
@ FrLoio95,

Are you using GSX Basic or the full payware GSX?

Which version(s) of Active Sky products e.g., the weather program / cloud art etc. are you using?

Are you using LM ATC when this problem happens?

Does it happen when using a default P3D aircraft?

Which aircraft are you using when the problem happens?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10002
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Martyson » Wed Jul 15, 2020 2:13 pm

@ FrLoio95,

You mentioned:
“In the GSX forum, the developers said that was a P3D problem and not an addon related, and the latest GSX release is compatible with P3Dv5.”

I checked the FSDT GSX forum.
The last post on this topic I seen in the FSDT GSX forum post was by SamuelHeine:

He said:
“The only reasons I have had CTDs in P5D so far has been when I have been interacting with GSX.
I use Activesky and others, they have not caused problems so far...”
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 99 guests