V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
Post Reply
airbader
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 4:49 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Post by airbader »

Again.

Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 5.0.31.35253, time stamp: 0x5eebf566
Faulting module name: VCRUNTIME140.dll, version: 14.26.28720.3, time stamp: 0x5e74aeb1
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000000000000137b
Faulting process id: 0x1808
Faulting application start time: 0x01d651a546e28741
Faulting application path: D:\Prepar3D V5\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\VCRUNTIME140.dll
Report Id: b58ede15-99e0-491b-92cd-c85e93779d31
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 3715
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Post by JorgenSA »

As EllipticCurve pointed out in another thread, this:

Exception code: 0xc0000005

in this context means someone did something really bad - writing to an area of memory where he shouldn't.

So, is Windows 10 up to v. 2004?

Are your graphics card drivers up to the latest level?

And, exactly what were you doing when this crash happened, including what airplane were you flying?

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
Perfectflight
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2019 3:25 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Post by Perfectflight »

I have it every time I fly, so I switched back to v4
with these errors the v5 is unusable for me
it is absolutely no fun when I trigger gsx, or activesky windows and prepar3dv5 crashes.
User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 11507
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Post by Martyson »

Perfectflight wrote: Sun Jul 12, 2020 9:07 pm I have it every time I fly, so I switched back to v4
with these errors the v5 is unusable for me
it is absolutely no fun when I trigger gsx, or activesky windows and prepar3dv5 crashes.
@ Perfectflight ,

Are you using P3Dv5HF2 ATC ?

Is your gsx the basic or full (payware) version?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell PP-ASEL (KDTW)
Perfectflight
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2019 3:25 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Post by Perfectflight »

Hello,
yes HT 2 and don't use ATC
GSX full version
active SKY full version
according to the gsx forum, there are also several problems
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 3715
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Post by JorgenSA »

Active Sky, as far as I know, is also still beta.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
Perfectflight
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2019 3:25 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Post by Perfectflight »

JorgenSA wrote: Mon Jul 13, 2020 5:04 pm Active Sky, as far as I know, is also still beta.

Jorgen
yes, and both programs are also designed for the v4
v4 works without problems
Sky_King
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:27 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Post by Sky_King »

LM staff -- please also see https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 4&t=138672

I sent you a message suggesting these two threads be combined since they deal with the same subject.

-SK
Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK,Black Edition Motherboard; Intel I7-4790K CPU; 16 Gb G.Skill RAM (F3-2400); Win 10 Pro (1909); 2 - Samsung 1Tb SSDs; Toshiba 3Tb hard drive; Gigabyte 1080ti Extreme 11 Gb VRAM. P3D v5 HF2
FrLoio95
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2020 11:31 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Post by FrLoio95 »

Same crash as reported, when opening the GSX or ActiveSky window. Seems to be a common issue, any solutions so far?
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 3715
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Post by JorgenSA »

See above - both Active Sky and GSX are not qualified as v. 5 compatible yet, therefore this has to be expected.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
FrLoio95
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2020 11:31 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Post by FrLoio95 »

JorgenSA wrote: Wed Jul 15, 2020 11:38 am See above - both Active Sky and GSX are not qualified as v. 5 compatible yet, therefore this has to be expected.

Jorgen
I think this is not related with GSX or Active Sky, since this also happens with the default ATC menu. I imagine this is related with the transparent menus of P3D.

In the GSX forum, the developers said that was a P3D problem and not an addon related, and the latest GSX release is compatible with P3Dv5.
airbader
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 4:49 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Post by airbader »

JorgenSA wrote: Wed Jul 15, 2020 11:38 am See above - both Active Sky and GSX are not qualified as v. 5 compatible yet, therefore this has to be expected.

Jorgen
This is completely false and incorrect. Stop being wrong.
User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 11507
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Post by Martyson »

FrLoio95 wrote: Wed Jul 15, 2020 11:34 am Same crash as reported, when opening the GSX or ActiveSky window. Seems to be a common issue, any solutions so far?
@ FrLoio95,

Are you using GSX Basic or the full payware GSX?

Which version(s) of Active Sky products e.g., the weather program / cloud art etc. are you using?

Are you using LM ATC when this problem happens?

Does it happen when using a default P3D aircraft?

Which aircraft are you using when the problem happens?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell PP-ASEL (KDTW)
User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 11507
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Post by Martyson »

@ FrLoio95,

You mentioned:
“In the GSX forum, the developers said that was a P3D problem and not an addon related, and the latest GSX release is compatible with P3Dv5.”

I checked the FSDT GSX forum.
The last post on this topic I seen in the FSDT GSX forum post was by SamuelHeine:

He said:
“The only reasons I have had CTDs in P5D so far has been when I have been interacting with GSX.
I use Activesky and others, they have not caused problems so far...”
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell PP-ASEL (KDTW)
airbader
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 4:49 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Post by airbader »

Martyson wrote: Wed Jul 15, 2020 2:13 pm @ FrLoio95,

You mentioned:
“In the GSX forum, the developers said that was a P3D problem and not an addon related, and the latest GSX release is compatible with P3Dv5.”

I checked the FSDT GSX forum.
The last post on this topic I seen in the FSDT GSX forum post was by SamuelHeine:

He said:
“The only reasons I have had CTDs in P5D so far has been when I have been interacting with GSX.
I use Activesky and others, they have not caused problems so far...”
"We reported to LM, which is investigating it."
Post Reply