V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10074
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Martyson » Thu Jun 25, 2020 1:06 pm

It's absolutely a bug. I just got it again when opening up GSX's control window.


Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 5.0.31.35253, time stamp: 0x5eebf566
Faulting module name: VCRUNTIME140.dll, version: 14.26.28720.3, time stamp: 0x5e74aeb1
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000000000000137b
Faulting process id: 0x19f8
Faulting application start time: 0x01d64ae356112163
Faulting application path: D:\Prepar3D V5\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\VCRUNTIME140.dll
Report Id: 18d502d8-0359-4c23-8422-7ec9ef736bfa
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:


If only there was some way to communicate bugs to Lockheed.
@ airbader,

Are you using the default LM ATC or another ATC software?

I just installed FSDT GSX (basic version) with some FSDT airports.

Why are you opening the GSX menu?
Which keyboard key or key combo do you use to open the GSX menu?

Maybe I can do a test .

EDit:
"If only there was some way to communicate bugs to Lockheed."

You are in the correct forum (here) to do that.
Last edited by Martyson on Thu Jun 25, 2020 1:11 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

manuelegonzalez
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 3:50 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby manuelegonzalez » Thu Jun 25, 2020 1:07 pm

Manny,

Which ATC are you using?
Im using the default ATC with EditVoicepack XL (6.3.0)

Can you try a flight in the default P3D aircraft?
Will do once i get home from work

Is the Feethere aircraft approved for P3Dv5 HF1 / HF2?
I will check the FeelThere site right now.

Good morning everyone,
@Martyson, thank you for taking the time to reply.

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10074
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Martyson » Thu Jun 25, 2020 1:10 pm

Manny,

Which ATC are you using?
Im using the default ATC with EditVoicepack XL (6.3.0)

Can you try a flight in the default P3D aircraft?
Will do once i get home from work

Is the Feethere aircraft approved for P3Dv5 HF1 / HF2?
I will check the FeelThere site right now.

Good morning everyone,
@Martyson, thank you for taking the time to reply.
Manny,
I asked several questions?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

manuelegonzalez
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 3:50 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby manuelegonzalez » Thu Jun 25, 2020 1:27 pm

Manny,

Which ATC are you using?
Im using the default ATC with EditVoicepack XL (6.3.0)

Can you try a flight in the default P3D aircraft?
Will do once i get home from work

Is the Feethere aircraft approved for P3Dv5 HF1 / HF2?
I will check the FeelThere site right now.

Good morning everyone,
@Martyson, thank you for taking the time to reply.
Manny,
I asked several questions?
Yes sir, i believe i answered them, did i missed something?, I apologize if i did.

JorgenSA
Posts: 2732
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby JorgenSA » Thu Jun 25, 2020 2:16 pm

I figured how to open the ATC window at KRND, no issues at all, and I see the F-35 rolling down the runway on takeoff.

Plain-vanilla P3D HF2, only AI traffic and FreeMeshX installed.

Any other views I should try?

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10074
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Martyson » Thu Jun 25, 2020 2:34 pm


I will check the FeelThere site right now.

Good morning everyone,
@Martyson, thank you for taking the time to reply.
Manny,
I asked several questions?
Yes sir, i believe i answered them, did i missed something?, I apologize if i did.
Ok,
No information from Feelthere yet, correct?
With EditVoicepack XL (6.3.0) that is not standard P3D ATC?

I am not using EditVoicepack XL (6.3.0) and I am not seeing the error .

Is EditVoicepack XL (6.3.0) approved for P3Dv5 HF2?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

manuelegonzalez
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 3:50 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby manuelegonzalez » Sat Jun 27, 2020 4:56 am



Manny,
I asked several questions?
Yes sir, i believe i answered them, did i missed something?, I apologize if i did.
Ok,
No information from Feelthere yet, correct?
With EditVoicepack XL (6.3.0) that is not standard P3D ATC?

I am not using EditVoicepack XL (6.3.0) and I am not seeing the error .

Is EditVoicepack XL (6.3.0) approved for P3Dv5 HF2?
Good evening,
FeelThere's site System Requirements:
SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
Prepar3D4.4, Prepar3D4.5 Windows 64 bit and a P3D5 Compatibility Hotfix for a plugin.
As for EditVoicepack, im aware this is not the default ATC, i sent an email asking if this version has been tested and approved for P3D V5 H2.

Today i decided to install the Aerosoft A319 Version: 1.4.0.1 (P3D V5). Flight from KMSP - KAUS. ATC Windows was fine for the 2:23 hour flight. When taxing out of the runway and contacting ground for gate assignment it happen again:

Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 5.0.31.35253, time stamp: 0x5eebf566
Faulting module name: VCRUNTIME140.dll, version: 14.26.28720.3, time stamp: 0x5e74aeb1
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00000000000012de
Faulting process id: 0x3864
Faulting application start time: 0x01d64c1a45bf8eb8
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v5\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\VCRUNTIME140.dll
Report Id: 6c229721-ba5f-4add-9621-2d48202aa4db
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

Application: Prepar3D.exe
Framework Version: v4.0.30319
Description: The process was terminated due to an unhandled exception.
Exception Info: exception code c0000005, exception address 00007FFEC8D012DE

Thank you.

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10074
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Martyson » Sat Jun 27, 2020 8:03 am

@ manuelegonzalez,

“Today i decided to install the Aerosoft A319 Version: 1.4.0.1 (P3D V5). Flight from KMSP - KAUS. ATC Windows was fine for the 2:23 hour flight. When taxing out of the runway and contacting ground for gate assignment it happen again:
Faulting module name: VCRUNTIME140.dll”



If you test the default P3D aircraft is it OK?

Have you asked Aerosoft Support?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

lmoelleb
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 7:55 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby lmoelleb » Sun Jun 28, 2020 10:39 am

....

Is EditVoicepack XL (6.3.0) approved for P3Dv5 HF2?
Yes, EditVoicepack XL 6.3.0 is approved with P3Dv5 HF2.

I have personally not seen any crashes, but a few users have reported this. While it is hard to get meningsful statistics on infrequent crashes like this, there was some "feeling" that reverting to the original USEnglishBig.gvp file instead of the files modified by EditVoicepack decreased the number of crashes. But even without EditVoicepack, it would still crash.

The most significant improvement found by one user was to no longer map show/hide ATC window to the controller - but revert to use the keyboard. But even then - there where still crashes.

EditVoicepack XL running with all optional voice variations enables does put higher memory load on the simulator (as in a few GB instead of ~200MB from the default ATC speech file), but I do not expect or observe any problems on this when running 64 bit.

I have been running some scans over the generated files to search for obvious corruption (wave files with invalid headers or length, check all offset to the text data) without finding anything suspicious. As the error message does not contain any detail on the data that is currently being accessed, it's hard to troubleshoot further from my end.

Overall, I am fairly confident this is an error in the Prepar3d code base, not in the EditVoicepack datafiles for the following reasons:
  • This also happens (potentially less frequently) without EditVoicepack active or even installed.
  • Few users have reported this - if it was a general problem with EditVoicepack I would expect to have heard from more users.
  • No changes to the data file was made for P3Dv5 as far as I am aware - and EditVoicepack generated data files work without crashes in P3Dv4 and FSX. I could of course have missed a release note mentioning a change somewhere?
Regards
Lars (developer of EditVoicepack)
Regards

Lars | EditVoicepack XL developer

airbader
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 4:49 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby airbader » Sun Jun 28, 2020 1:40 pm

@ manuelegonzalez,

“Today i decided to install the Aerosoft A319 Version: 1.4.0.1 (P3D V5). Flight from KMSP - KAUS. ATC Windows was fine for the 2:23 hour flight. When taxing out of the runway and contacting ground for gate assignment it happen again:
Faulting module name: VCRUNTIME140.dll”



If you test the default P3D aircraft is it OK?

Have you asked Aerosoft Support?
We've established that this can happen across multiple add-on aircraft, so there's no point in contacting specific developers.

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10074
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Martyson » Sun Jun 28, 2020 1:55 pm

@ manuelegonzalez,

“Today i decided to install the Aerosoft A319 Version: 1.4.0.1 (P3D V5). Flight from KMSP - KAUS. ATC Windows was fine for the 2:23 hour flight. When taxing out of the runway and contacting ground for gate assignment it happen again:
Faulting module name: VCRUNTIME140.dll”



If you test the default P3D aircraft is it OK?

Have you asked Aerosoft Support?
We've established that this can happen across multiple add-on aircraft, so there's no point in contacting specific developers.
Who's We've?

I actually just asked a couple questions to get additional information:

If you test the default P3D aircraft is it OK?

Have you asked Aerosoft Support?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

JorgenSA
Posts: 2732
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby JorgenSA » Sun Jun 28, 2020 2:19 pm

Since "we" apparently have established that this can happen across multiple add-on aircraft, then there is all the more reason to contact the various add-on aircraft manufacturers so they can:

1. Fix their product, or

2. Refund the customer's money.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

airbader
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 4:49 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby airbader » Sun Jun 28, 2020 3:58 pm

Since "we" apparently have established that this can happen across multiple add-on aircraft, then there is all the more reason to contact the various add-on aircraft manufacturers so they can:

1. Fix their product, or

2. Refund the customer's money.

Jorgen
1. If you tell an add-on dev that the crash happens with other products as well, they send you back to LM or don't investigate any further.

2. This isn't an option for 99% of devs, but you know that.

The alternative is to simply keep bumping the thread for visibility in hopes that LM sees it.

JorgenSA
Posts: 2732
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby JorgenSA » Sun Jun 28, 2020 4:38 pm

There is no need to bump any thread, all are not only seen, but read as well.

And, if add-on manufacturers follow your item 1, you need to push back and make them take their responsibility seriously.

If P3D works with the default aircraft, why cannot they make their product work? I have seen it a couple of times in these threads, they take the customer's money and then either go into hiding, or they claim it is L-M's fault.

You can put your own labels on this kind of behavior.

As for your item 2, there are actually consumer protections laws. There are also honest manufacturers that actually will refund the customer's money, and kudos to them.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

airbader
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 4:49 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby airbader » Sun Jun 28, 2020 4:42 pm

Just happened again. Leonardo MD80, on approach to EDDH (JustSim).

Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 5.0.31.35253, time stamp: 0x5eebf566
Faulting module name: VCRUNTIME140.dll, version: 14.26.28720.3, time stamp: 0x5e74aeb1
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00000000000012de
Faulting process id: 0x1cc0
Faulting application start time: 0x01d64d445a73c10e
Faulting application path: D:\Prepar3D V5\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\VCRUNTIME140.dll
Report Id: 15306090-cf93-4a4c-8395-15d8798778c4
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 108 guests