V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
schtaiw
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2012 11:15 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby schtaiw » Wed Oct 14, 2020 11:07 am

Hi,

Correct me if I'm wrong - but you can't select an option in GSX and still leave the SImConnect menu open can you? I can undock and move to another screen but selecting GSX boarding or pushback etc closes the window...
Yeah it closes in between GSX requests, but when it reopens it does so as an undocked window.

I'm also using Pro-ATC X which also appears in the same undocked window but curiously it's never been Pro-ATC which has triggered the CTD; only ever GSX and on occasion the default atc window.

Done a few flights without a CTD with the window undocked. On one occasion I forgot to undock the simconnect window and it crashed almost immediately.

dabr0an
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2020 3:05 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby dabr0an » Wed Oct 14, 2020 2:50 pm

After installed Simconnect.exe in those folders (total of 4 I think) no more CTD.

Matthew21
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 12:32 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Matthew21 » Wed Oct 14, 2020 4:21 pm

After installed Simconnect.exe in those folders (total of 4 I think) no more CTD.
Where did you get the files to install them from

JorgenSA
Posts: 2738
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby JorgenSA » Wed Oct 14, 2020 6:11 pm

Matthew,

They should be in the redist folder in your main P3D folder.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Matthew21
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 12:32 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Matthew21 » Wed Oct 14, 2020 6:50 pm

Matthew,

They should be in the redist folder in your main P3D folder.

Jorgen
Yeah I didn’t know if he install a fresh set

5a_49_4f_4e
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 4:43 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby 5a_49_4f_4e » Fri Oct 16, 2020 11:48 pm

I don't think it will help to install SimConnect from those folders if you done this already, at least not for a long time. I also tried this step but it will not help because SimConnect is already installed. I think we can't get a 100% workaround till LM fixed this bug or whatever that is. Flown out of Moscow right now and got the same sh*t again.
There is something completely wrong in the architecture of this software I'd say, but I'm not a developer.
I hope we'll get a Hotfix or v5.1 later at the end of this year and than I will be very curious if this "rumor" is correct that LM is already aware of the issue and try to fix it. If not this was the last time for me being a LM customer.

PC Specs:
AMD Ryzen 2700X, OC @ 4.2 GHz
Zotac GeForce RTX 2080 AMP!
64 GB DDR4 RAM
Samsung M.2 EVO SSD, 2 TB

airbader
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 4:49 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby airbader » Sat Oct 17, 2020 7:31 pm

Hi,

Correct me if I'm wrong - but you can't select an option in GSX and still leave the SImConnect menu open can you? I can undock and move to another screen but selecting GSX boarding or pushback etc closes the window...
Correct, but I think the idea is that having any SimConnect window (e.g. ATC) would prevent a crash even if you're using GSX. I could be wrong and not interpreting Sky King's suggestion correctly. But since Lockheed has gone AWOL I'll explore whatever solution I can.
I am a very light user of GSX, but will experiment with it this afternoon. Glad the suggestion has reduced your CTDs! I happened to discover this by accident. Let me know how it goes for you and I'll post results in the next few days.

SK
Looks like I spoke too soon. I unfortunately just had another CTD opening the GSX window while the P3D ATC window was open for the whole flight so it's not a solution to the GSX conflict after all.

Flyboyaz
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 21, 2020 1:47 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Flyboyaz » Tue Oct 20, 2020 2:41 pm

I had this issue earlier in the summer and discovered that not having the .exe file to run as administrator was causing a lot of grief. I kept getting these widows files causing CTD's and that seemed to be the cause. For GSX it was the same thing, I made sure all the .exe's that I could find related to GSX we set to run as administrator and I haven't had the issue since with that. Not to mention that GSX was just updated to 64 bit so I assumed that would help too.

I gave up using the ATC functions in P3D until just a couple days ago. Then today I had a vcruntime CTD right as I was getting an instruction from ATC and the window would pop up. Leaving the window active may help the issue, or use it sparingly. I've started only using ATC for taxi, take off, and on final for landing. In the air it doesn't have much use for me and usually messes up anyway.

It's frustrating to say the least when you get pointed in all different directions because it's always someone else's product that is causing the problems. I just try to figure things out on my own now. LOL.

Best of luck.

Behic.Cincin
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:31 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Behic.Cincin » Fri Oct 30, 2020 4:52 am

I installed prepar3d v5.1 . Today I am going to try if it works to stop CTD.
Under fixes and improvements It is written "Fixed shutdown crash issue leading to a program freeze in some cases".
Hope works

Sky_King
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:27 pm

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Sky_King » Fri Oct 30, 2020 2:58 pm

Actually the correct fix reference is "Replaced Scaleform ATC window, SimConnect window, and menu prompt window with HTML5."
Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK,Black Edition Motherboard; Intel I7-4790K CPU; 16 Gb G.Skill RAM (F3-2400); Win 10 Pro (1909); 2 - Samsung 1Tb SSDs; Toshiba 3Tb hard drive; Gigabyte 1080ti Extreme 11 Gb VRAM. P3D v5 HF2

flynryan692
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 3:16 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby flynryan692 » Tue Nov 17, 2020 4:50 pm

I'm experiencing this problem on v5.1, everything is fine until that ATC window opens for AS/GSX etc.

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10072
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby Martyson » Tue Nov 17, 2020 5:17 pm

I'm experiencing this problem on v5.1, everything is fine until that ATC window opens for AS/GSX etc.
@ flynryan692 ,

Which one is causing the problem?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

flynryan692
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 3:16 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby flynryan692 » Tue Nov 17, 2020 8:17 pm

I'm experiencing this problem on v5.1, everything is fine until that ATC window opens for AS/GSX etc.
@ flynryan692 ,

Which one is causing the problem?
Both AS and GSX. ATC window was fine.

It may be coincidence, but after adding the following to the cfg it started working properly. I'll have to try some more to make sure it's actually ok now. That's a fix for the ucrtbase.dl crashes which isn't what is happening, but so far so good.

[SIM]
AdaptiveSimGroupEnable=False

flynryan692
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 3:16 am

Re: V5: ATC-windows crash VCRUNTIME140.dll

Postby flynryan692 » Thu Nov 19, 2020 5:08 am

I'm experiencing this problem on v5.1, everything is fine until that ATC window opens for AS/GSX etc.
@ flynryan692 ,

Which one is causing the problem?
Both AS and GSX. ATC window was fine.

It may be coincidence, but after adding the following to the cfg it started working properly. I'll have to try some more to make sure it's actually ok now. That's a fix for the ucrtbase.dl crashes which isn't what is happening, but so far so good.

[SIM]
AdaptiveSimGroupEnable=False
This fixed it. Also, just to correct my original post, I don't think it was the ATC window after all. The ATC window is fine, the momentary freeze prior to a crash when using AS (while GSX was also running) seems to have been a one off incident, and the multiple crashes with GSX I believe were caused by SODE objects which is why this fixed the problem. I jumped the gun and make incorrect assumptions.


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot], TomH101 and 116 guests