v5 Cloud Flickering

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
vrdubin6
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2020 7:22 pm

v5 Cloud Flickering

Postby vrdubin6 » Thu May 14, 2020 2:22 pm

This is an issue I've been seeing with v5 and v5 HF1. In this video I'm only using a few ORBX items (base/LC/trees) as well as Chaseplane. I have tried a fresh Windows install, as well as different video drivers, disabling HDR and other various settings within P3D and I can't seem to get rid of it. I had the same problem with a vanilla install, regardless of add-ons.

In the video here you can see the flicker at :28, :32 and :40.

Any ideas on a possible culprit?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MnGwOAh ... e=youtu.be

flyblueskies
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 10:17 pm

Re: v5 Cloud Flickering

Postby flyblueskies » Fri May 15, 2020 1:45 pm

I have this problem too. For me, it's happening when EA is unchecked (True Sky is off). It happened with a vanilla installation and it happens with Orbx addon's.

It happened with no weather addon, and it happens with AS and ASCA.

I'm really surprised we are not seeing more reports of this...

Alox
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 5:49 pm
Location: Mexico

Re: v5 Cloud Flickering

Postby Alox » Fri May 15, 2020 2:07 pm

I have seen this but only with tru sky is enable. Are you using nvidia inspector?. Regards.

flyblueskies
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 10:17 pm

Re: v5 Cloud Flickering

Postby flyblueskies » Fri May 15, 2020 3:00 pm

No I am not using Nvidia Inspector.

Just to add a bit more information, I use Nvidia drivers 445.87.

The flickering occurs with default planes or with addon planes (Carenado).

remcosol
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 5:31 pm

Re: v5 Cloud Flickering

Postby remcosol » Fri May 15, 2020 6:54 pm

I am having the same issues, only with true sky off. It seems to get better over time.... shader issue/shader building proces?

vrdubin6
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2020 7:22 pm

Re: v5 Cloud Flickering

Postby vrdubin6 » Fri May 15, 2020 7:30 pm

Thank goodness I'm not losing my mind. I was starting to think I was the only one. I've tried multiple drivers, removed the overclock on CPU/GPU and messed with about every setting within P3D. I have EA disabled as well.

Here are some screenshots from my video showing the single frame when this happens. It is almost like entire sections of clouds just randomly disappear completely for a single frame.

Image

Image

Obviously much more noticeable the heavier the cloud cover.

brianv
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 10:17 am

Re: v5 Cloud Flickering

Postby brianv » Sat May 16, 2020 10:20 am

I see this too, when truesky is switched off.

Alox
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 5:49 pm
Location: Mexico

Re: v5 Cloud Flickering

Postby Alox » Sat May 16, 2020 1:15 pm

Hopefully this can be reviewed and fixed in the next hotfix.

Regards.

roshanfernandes
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 31, 2020 4:02 am

Re: v5 Cloud Flickering

Postby roshanfernandes » Sun May 31, 2020 4:07 am

I have the same issue. It started after I turned off Hyper Threading in the BIOS.

vrdubin6
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2020 7:22 pm

Re: v5 Cloud Flickering

Postby vrdubin6 » Tue Jun 23, 2020 6:40 pm

Still a major issue for me in HF2. This just kills immersion for me when flying with any cloud cover.

ggoodwin
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2018 2:26 pm

Re: v5 Cloud Flickering

Postby ggoodwin » Thu Jul 02, 2020 5:11 pm

I see it too but not all the time. Trying to figure out if it is linked to dynamic texture streaming or possibly mountain locations where clouds are below terrain or some other graphics setting (switching back and forth between EA). It also seems to be tied to transparency problems where distant clouds can be seen through nearby clouds. The two still images above show that I think.

BMW969
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 12:38 pm

Re: v5 Cloud Flickering

Postby BMW969 » Thu Jul 02, 2020 7:07 pm

How did LM comment on these flickering clouds? Or testers did not see flicker before release?

Rhett
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 6:03 pm

Re: v5 Cloud Flickering

Postby Rhett » Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:48 pm

I’m also relieved I’m not the only one seeing this. Have cloud flickering frequently only when not using EA. I use ASP3D beta 6 with ASCA. Was present in HF1 and still happening with HF2. Cloud flickering seems to occur with simultaneous stutters. Feels like the sim could break (CTD) at any moment when the flickering occurs but it somehow continues to run. Not a smooth or pleasant experience though.
Rhett Kelly
P3Dv4 & P3Dv5
i7 7700K, MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GX+, 16GB RAM, Windows 10

BMW969
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 12:38 pm

Re: v5 Cloud Flickering

Postby BMW969 » Thu Jul 02, 2020 10:02 pm

I confirm. Flickering occurs simultaneously with stuttering. I don’t understand how to get rid of it. While EA is in beta, we have not even been offered a classic atmosphere.

User avatar
ice75
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 6:35 pm
Location: LFSB

Re: v5 Cloud Flickering

Postby ice75 » Fri Jul 03, 2020 7:36 am

Same issue for me. Im not using EA. I use ASP3D Beta #6 with ASCA. Clouds flickering sporadically.
CPU: Intel i7 9700k @ 4.9 GHz, MB: ASUS ROG Maximus Hero XI
GPU: ASUS ROG GTX 1080ti 11GB, RAM: 16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200
OS: Win 10 (v2004), FS: P3Dv5 HF2


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: doc4711, n116dh, ryanair007, Sugarbertie and 123 guests