Prepar3D V4.5 causing total system crash

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
Twofaceddisk799
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 12:43 am

Prepar3D V4.5 causing total system crash

Postby Twofaceddisk799 » Sun Feb 09, 2020 3:32 am

Hello,

I am having a consistent issue with my P3D V 4.5 application causing a complete system crash whenever the flight is in cruise. The CPU sits pretty high, constantly fluctuating from mid 50s to high 90s. Despite no issues while on the ground, the entire pc will crash and I have to restart my PC. I have not had this issue since before updating to 4.5. Is anyone else having any issues with this? If so how did you solve the issue. Any help would be much appreciated. Listed below are my system specs as well as a visual of my current settings in P3D V 4.5 and my add-ons in case one of those might be an issue.

Respectfully,
John

  • PC Specs:
[*]SAPPHIRE Radeon RX Vega 64 DirectX 12 21275-03-20G 8GB 2048-Bit HBM2 PCI Express 3.0 CrossFireX Support Video Card
[*]ASUS Prime X470-Pro AMD Ryzen 2 AM4 DDR4 DP HDMI M.2 USB 3.1 ATX Motherboard
[*]G.SKILL 32GB (2 x 16GB) Ripjaws V Series DDR4 PC4-25600 3200MHz for Intel Z170 Platform Desktop Memory Model F4-3200C16D-32GVK
[*]AMD Ryzen 7 2700X Processor with Wraith Prism LED Cooler
[*]CORSAIR RMX Series, RM850x, 850 Watt, 80+ Gold Certified, Fully Modular Power Supply

  • P3D V4.5 Display Setup:
[*]Display: Radeon RX Vega.0.0
[*]FXAA: ON
[*]Texture Filtering: Anistropic 2x
[*]AA: 2xMSAA
[*]Texture Resolution: Ultra - 4096x4096
[*]Resolution: 1920x1080x32
[*]VSinc: Off
[*]Target Frame Rate: 60 FPS
[*]Wide-View Aspect Ratio: Off
[*]Minimap VC Panels: Off
[*]2-D Panel Transparency: 0%

  • Addons Installed:
[*]29Palms - Skiathos
[*]Aerosoft - Anchorage, Frankfurt, Heathrow, Rome, Tenerife South A318/A319/A320/A321/A330, CRJ Professional Series
[*]Captainsim - 757-200/300
[*]Chaseplane
[*]Drzewiecki Design - Seattle Airports X
[*]FLAI
[*]Flightbeam - KDEN, KIAD, KMSP, KSFO, NZWN
[*]Flytampa - EHAM, KTPA, OMDB, TNCM, YSSY, VHHX
[*]FSDG - FACT, VQPR
[*]FSDreamteam - KLAX, KJFK, KORD, PHNL, GSX v2
[*]FSimStudios - MPTO
[*]FSLAbs - A320/A321
[*]HIFI - ActiveSky 4 2016
[*]Imaginesim - WSSS Singapore
[*]LatinVFR - KEYW, KMIA v5, LEBL
[*]MaddogX - MD-82
[*] Navigraph - Charts + FMS Manager
[*]Orbx - Global Base, Open LC NA, Open LC EU, Open LC AU, KCGX, KSAN, KEGE, KPSP, YMML, LOWI, KAVX, L35, Trees
[*]PACSIM - RKSI
[*]PMDG - 777 Base/300ER Expansion, 747 V3 Base, 747-8 Expansion, 737 NGXu Base , 737 NGXu Expansion
[*]PTA - Simtweaks v2.67
[*]Qualitywings - Boeing 787, Bae-146
[*]REX - Texture Direct w/ Soft Clouds
[*]Taxi2Gate - LFPG
[*]TFDi - Boeing 717
[*]WFSS - Beijing Capital Airport

JorgenSA
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Prepar3D V4.5 causing total system crash

Postby JorgenSA » Sun Feb 09, 2020 7:02 am

What does Windows Event Viewer say is the "failing module" at the time of the crash?

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB of 2133 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 graphics w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS-X, Windows 10 Home

Martyson
Posts: 8313
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Prepar3D V4.5 causing total system crash

Postby Martyson » Sun Feb 09, 2020 10:49 am

John,

Is the problem / flight problem repeatable?

What have you done to isolate the problem?

Are you using P3Dv4.5 HF2?

WIN7 or WIN10?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

LucyLastic
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2019 9:15 am

Re: Prepar3D V4.5 causing total system crash

Postby LucyLastic » Mon Feb 10, 2020 1:22 pm

We're having a similar problem where the whole system crashes, just a black screen no response from anything.
It happens most when switching views in our triple screen setup, although has crashed a few times when in flight and once just as a new scenario started.

There's nothing of note in the event log just prior to the crash, appears that the problem is so severe it cannot get anything to the event log.

I'm away from that system just now, but I can get back with the dxdiag and any other required logs.

regards
Tony @stemulatoruk

Martyson
Posts: 8313
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Prepar3D V4.5 causing total system crash

Postby Martyson » Mon Feb 10, 2020 1:37 pm

We're having a similar problem where the whole system crashes, just a black screen no response from anything.
It happens most when switching views in our triple screen setup, although has crashed a few times when in flight and once just as a new scenario started.

There's nothing of note in the event log just prior to the crash, appears that the problem is so severe it cannot get anything to the event log.

I'm away from that system just now, but I can get back with the dxdiag and any other required logs.

regards
Tony @stemulatoruk
Tony,

When you get back to your PC run through all the General Debugging Steps:
viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=123246
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 62 guests