Page 1 of 3

Frames per second problem

Posted: Wed Jan 29, 2020 3:48 pm
by Boeing2468
My sim gets about average 60 to 80 fps and sometimes more. But for some reason after about 5 to 10 min my fps drop to about 35 - 40 fps without even moving the plane.

Re: HELP

Posted: Wed Jan 29, 2020 4:48 pm
by Martyson
My sim gets about average 60 to 80 fps and sometimes more. But for some reason after about 5 to 10 min my fps drop to about 35 - 40 fps without even moving the plane.
You could run through all the General Debugging steps here:
viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=123246

Re: HELP

Posted: Wed Jan 29, 2020 5:01 pm
by JorgenSA
Why are you worried about your frame rates? Is the simulation running smoothly, without stutters?

P3D is not a first-person shooter game, it is a simulation of the real world, and what matters is that it looks real, no matter what frame rate you get.

Jorgen

Re: HELP

Posted: Wed Jan 29, 2020 6:23 pm
by Boeing2468
My sim gets about average 60 to 80 fps and sometimes more. But for some reason after about 5 to 10 min my fps drop to about 35 - 40 fps without even moving the plane.
You could run through all the General Debugging steps here:
viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=123246
Did the debugging steps and when i started up P3D i got a message saying "Vehicle initialization has failed for the F-22 Raptor"

Re: HELP

Posted: Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:27 pm
by Martyson
My sim gets about average 60 to 80 fps and sometimes more. But for some reason after about 5 to 10 min my fps drop to about 35 - 40 fps without even moving the plane.
You could run through all the General Debugging steps here:
viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=123246
Did the debugging steps and when i started up P3D i got a message saying "Vehicle initialization has failed for the F-22 Raptor"
Did you do all of the debugging steps?

Which version of P3D are you using?

Re: HELP

Posted: Wed Jan 29, 2020 11:08 pm
by Boeing2468


You could run through all the General Debugging steps here:
viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=123246
Did the debugging steps and when i started up P3D i got a message saying "Vehicle initialization has failed for the F-22 Raptor"
Did you do all of the debugging steps?

Which version of P3D are you using?
4.5 with HF 2

Re: HELP

Posted: Wed Jan 29, 2020 11:21 pm
by Martyson


Did the debugging steps and when i started up P3D i got a message saying "Vehicle initialization has failed for the F-22 Raptor"
Did you do all of the debugging steps?

Which version of P3D are you using?
4.5 with HF 2
Ok,

Step 7 of Debugging Steps:
Finally, include the following information in your report:

Prepar3D version
Operating system
All add-ons installed (applications, scenery, vehicles, etc.)
Hardware (graphics card, CPU, RAM, displays, etc.)
Changes made to your system – overclocking, graphics accelerators (NVIDIA Inspector), debuggers
Changes to Prepar3D's settings or configuration files
Crash logs or error messages

Re: HELP

Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2020 4:25 am
by Boeing2468


Did you do all of the debugging steps?

Which version of P3D are you using?
4.5 with HF 2
Ok,

Step 7 of Debugging Steps:
Finally, include the following information in your report:

Prepar3D version
Operating system
All add-ons installed (applications, scenery, vehicles, etc.)
Hardware (graphics card, CPU, RAM, displays, etc.)
Changes made to your system – overclocking, graphics accelerators (NVIDIA Inspector), debuggers
Changes to Prepar3D's settings or configuration files
Crash logs or error messages
I've uninstalled and reinstalled P3D and I'm getting fps in the teens now. A week or two ago everything was fine.

Re: HELP

Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2020 9:01 am
by Martyson
You need to provide more information.

Operating system?
All add-ons installed (applications, scenery, vehicles, etc.)
Hardware (graphics card, CPU, RAM, displays, etc.)
Changes made to your system – overclocking, graphics accelerators (NVIDIA Inspector), debuggers
Changes to Prepar3D's settings or configuration files
Age of you computer?
Is your computer a home built / upgraded PC or a name brand store purchased PC?


Note:
It would be good if the Topic of this post could be changed from HELP to Frames per second problem.

Re: HELP

Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2020 4:17 pm
by Boeing2468
You need to provide more information.

Operating system?
All add-ons installed (applications, scenery, vehicles, etc.)
Hardware (graphics card, CPU, RAM, displays, etc.)
Changes made to your system – overclocking, graphics accelerators (NVIDIA Inspector), debuggers
Changes to Prepar3D's settings or configuration files
Age of you computer?
Is your computer a home built / upgraded PC or a name brand store purchased PC?


Note:
It would be good if the Topic of this post could be changed from HELP to Frames per second problem.
I actually think I might need to add some more thermal paste. Its been a while since i did that. Also when running P3D the CPU temps are in the high 40's with the fan between 85% - 95% and without the fan running i can feel the heat the from the CPU.

Re: HELP

Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2020 4:30 pm
by Martyson
You need to provide more information.

Operating system?
All add-ons installed (applications, scenery, vehicles, etc.)
Hardware (graphics card, CPU, RAM, displays, etc.)
Changes made to your system – overclocking, graphics accelerators (NVIDIA Inspector), debuggers
Changes to Prepar3D's settings or configuration files
Age of you computer?
Is your computer a home built / upgraded PC or a name brand store purchased PC?


Note:
It would be good if the Topic of this post could be changed from HELP to Frames per second problem.
I actually think I might need to add some more thermal paste. Its been a while since i did that. Also when running P3D the CPU temps are in the high 40's with the fan between 85% - 95% and without the fan running i can feel the heat the from the CPU.
Glad to hear you found the problem (I assume).

When you take the PC to the shop for for maintenance / cleaning you might consider adding a CPU water cooler.

Re: HELP

Posted: Sat Feb 08, 2020 2:47 am
by Boeing2468
You need to provide more information.

Operating system?
All add-ons installed (applications, scenery, vehicles, etc.)
Hardware (graphics card, CPU, RAM, displays, etc.)
Changes made to your system – overclocking, graphics accelerators (NVIDIA Inspector), debuggers
Changes to Prepar3D's settings or configuration files
Age of you computer?
Is your computer a home built / upgraded PC or a name brand store purchased PC?


Note:
It would be good if the Topic of this post could be changed from HELP to Frames per second problem.
I actually think I might need to add some more thermal paste. Its been a while since i did that. Also when running P3D the CPU temps are in the high 40's with the fan between 85% - 95% and without the fan running i can feel the heat the from the CPU.
Glad to hear you found the problem (I assume).

When you take the PC to the shop for for maintenance / cleaning you might consider adding a CPU water cooler.
I'm still having the same issues.

Re: Frames per second problem

Posted: Sat Feb 08, 2020 3:01 pm
by Martyson
Is your PC a home built / user upgrade or a store purchased PC?

Also:
Step 7 of Debugging Steps:
Finally, include the following information in your report:

Prepar3D version
Operating system
All add-ons installed (applications, scenery, vehicles, etc.)
Hardware (graphics card, CPU, RAM, displays, etc.)
Changes made to your system – overclocking, graphics accelerators (NVIDIA Inspector), debuggers
Changes to Prepar3D's settings or configuration files
Crash logs or error messages

Re: Frames per second problem

Posted: Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:47 am
by Boeing2468
Is your PC a home built / user upgrade or a store purchased PC?

Also:
Step 7 of Debugging Steps:
Finally, include the following information in your report:

Prepar3D version
Operating system
All add-ons installed (applications, scenery, vehicles, etc.)
Hardware (graphics card, CPU, RAM, displays, etc.)
Changes made to your system – overclocking, graphics accelerators (NVIDIA Inspector), debuggers
Changes to Prepar3D's settings or configuration files
Crash logs or error messages
My P3D CPU percentage hits between 57% and 80% at times. Sometimes higher. Why?

Re: Frames per second problem

Posted: Mon Feb 10, 2020 10:55 am
by JorgenSA
We need to know your hardware configuration to see if your hardware could be the cause of your issues.

Until we know at least that, any CPU or GPU load percentages do not matter.

Jorgen