Page 1 of 1

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 7:23 am
by DevSim
Hi P3D Team,



I'm not sure weather this should go into the SimConnect or Weather forum, but anyhow, here it is.



Setting the METAR via SimConnect_WeatherSetObservation(), I try to have the visibility set. The learning center says:



Prepar3D® extension:

[...]

Format is &BXXXX&DYYYY



XXXX - base of visibility layer in meters

YYYY - depth of visibility layer in meters



It doesn't say, from where the base is measured. My METAR string looks like this:



GLOB METAR 0123 000000KT&D1524NG 0100M&B0000&D5000



That means I have a visibility of 100m from the base at 0m with a depth of 5000m. However, hovering out at apx 12500 ft (3810m), the visibility resorts to an indefinite value.



Any ideas what I'm missing here?



My goals is to have multiple visibility layers, but if they aren't accurately displayed, I'm lost.



Thanks,

DevSim




Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 12:42 pm
by DevSim
Observation:



If I add 1500m to the depth of the layer going from 0000 to any depth, it's correct. Subsequent layers above are consistent with the base and depth provided.



Very strange.

Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 8:52 am
by DevSim
I would appreciate it, if this statement/workaround could be verified (or of course, denied) quickly by LM.



Thanks,

DevSim