nice to haves: getting notifications when things are finished loading

jpearson
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:52 pm

Postby jpearson » Fri Apr 15, 2011 12:14 am

it would be nice if, in addition to being able to receive the usual notifications when things are beginning to load, i.e. flight files, aircraft files, etc., SimConnect clients could also receive notifications when these things are finished loading as well. Often times I would like to do some additional processing after a certain flight file or aircraft has loaded but im forced to guess how long loading might take and run a wait timer or sleep a thread of whatever before i bother trying to proceed with anymore processing...of course, these loading times are variable from system to system, so its never a satisfactory solution.



of course if someone knows a better way to do what im doing, then by all means...enlighten me :)

SimXLive
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 9:13 am

Postby SimXLive » Sat Jan 21, 2012 4:55 am

I have a way, not great but it works. Use the event you are tracking in combination with Sim Paused and Sim Stopped System Events. Set booleans for all three, when they come un-paused and un-stopped and your event was set the event has completed.

DevSim
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:45 pm

Postby DevSim » Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:47 am

I strongly support jpearsons wish.



Sim Stopped/ Sim Start are not reliable _at all_ at least in V1.2. The sim start event is received before the loading bar is gone.




WBard
Posts: 1034
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 7:23 pm

Postby WBard » Fri Feb 03, 2012 8:35 am

Hey All,



thanks for catching this. we do have this one fixed for the next release. the SimStart and Stop will be back to normal.

DevSim
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:45 pm

Postby DevSim » Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:27 am

Awesome. Might I ask if the height of terrain returned will be also correct once the sim start event is received in the upcoming version?



That would even be more awesomer, to say.



Thanks,

DevSim

cliff
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 3:06 pm

Postby cliff » Fri Feb 10, 2012 2:37 pm

Hi What version will this be fixed in? I am using the 1.2.0.0 version of simconnect, actually can you add a date/time stamp to the downloads page to show when the files where last changed.



Also will the issue of multiple simStart/simStop events on reload of the scenery be fixed?



Thanks



Cliff.

DevSim
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:45 pm

Postby DevSim » Thu Mar 22, 2012 10:42 am

Bump.

FSMP
Posts: 678
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:38 am

Postby FSMP » Fri Mar 23, 2012 4:23 pm

Is there a RELEASE DATE yet for the next version of P3D ( Current version at this time being 1.2.0.0) ??

Adam Breed
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1385
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 6:17 pm

Postby Adam Breed » Sat Mar 24, 2012 11:00 am

Hello,



As I am sure you are aware, version 1.3 was released yesterday afternoon. For more information on the SimStart/SimStop changes, please see the 1.3 release notes: http://www.prepar3d.com/prepar3d-version-1-3-release-notes-change-log/
Prepar3D® Engineering Project Manager

DevSim
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:45 pm

Postby DevSim » Sun Mar 25, 2012 4:50 am

Thanks for the fix - looking forward to seeing it in action soon :)



Regards,

DevSim

DevSim
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:45 pm

Postby DevSim » Tue Apr 03, 2012 11:06 am

Adam,



Could you please look into this again? Using Version 1.3:

I still get the SimStart Event before the loading bar on the screen is gone on the initial load.

I sometimes also still get another SimStop/SimStart event again after the first loading, looks like we're not there quite yet.

At least, the returned altitude looks to be valid on the reception of the first SimStart Event now.



Short one, first value is a timestamp

[...]

93.347 : SimConnectProtocol::handleGroundAlt - sim stop event received

94.345 : SimConnectProtocol::handleGroundAlt - sim start event received

[...]



Regards,

Devsim

DevSim
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:45 pm

Postby DevSim » Wed Apr 04, 2012 4:36 am

Some more feedback, I don't know if someone from LM is still tracking this bug. But there's for sure an issue still around. This time it's again regarding the ground altitude received. Allthough the SimStart Event has been received after a far reposition, the ground altitude is still the old one and changes only a few seconds (sometimes one, sometimes multiple seconds) later to the correct one.



Please investigate.



4218.329 : SimConnectProtocol::handleGroundAlt - sim start event received

4218.329 : SimConnect::handleGroundAlt ground alt after sim start received 434

4218.360 : SimConnect::handleGroundAlt ground alt received 434



4218.657 : SimConnect::handleGroundAlt ground alt received 434

4218.719 : SimConnect::handleGroundAlt ground alt received 434

4218.781 : SimConnect::handleGroundAlt ground alt received 434

4218.844 : SimConnect::handleGroundAlt ground alt received 434

4218.906 : SimConnect::handleGroundAlt ground alt received 434

4218.969 : SimConnect::handleGroundAlt ground alt received 434

4219.047 : SimConnect::handleGroundAlt ground alt received 434

4219.109 : SimConnect::handleGroundAlt ground alt received 434

4219.171 : SimConnect::handleGroundAlt ground alt received 434

//--> then here we go with the correct one, 1 second late

4219.234 : SimConnect::handleGroundAlt ground alt received 90.9974

4219.296 : SimConnect::handleGroundAlt ground alt received 90.9974



Thank you for your feedback,



DevSim

Adam Breed
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1385
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 6:17 pm

Postby Adam Breed » Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:59 am

Hi DevSim,



We are looking into the issues. We will provide updates when we make any progress.



Thanks for your assistance,

Adam
Prepar3D® Engineering Project Manager

DevSim
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:45 pm

Postby DevSim » Wed Apr 04, 2012 9:46 am

Thanks Adam, very much appreciated.



DevSim

DevSim
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:45 pm

Postby DevSim » Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:38 am

This is creating me headaches - any updates on when this can be confirmed as a bug and fixed for version 1.x/2.x?



Thanks!



DevSim


Return to “SimConnect Interface Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests