Page 1 of 1

Posted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 7:24 pm
by djlm
Hello everyone,



Congrats on the new release. I installed Prepar3d v2 and went on to test our sceneries with the new platform. Everything that is made with FSX SDK looks to be fine as it was in P3D v1.x, but there seems to be a little issue with transparencies when there is a nearby object. I have made a little video that shows problems in the fence, trees and the see-through jetways, both how they look in FSX/P3D v1 and how they look in P3D v2. The fence sometimes makes the container behind it see-through. The trees seems to have some flickering on the edges of where transparent and non-transparent meet. The jetway seems to have the inside part showing and then not showing, causing the weird flickering seen on the video.



EDIT: I'll just post the link to the video here, the youtube embed button here doesn't seem to be working for me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PMLPLMXY-o0



Here are the material settings from the transparent trees and fences. I believe the jetways have the same settings, but I need to double-check.



transp_mat_settings.jpg



Is there any P3d v2 specific recommended material settings for transparency to work and look as they did on the FSX/P3D v1 video?



Best Regards,



Leandro Machado

Posted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 12:35 pm
by Max Perry
Thanks for the great video and detailed material settings, we'll look into this. Have you tried altering the material settings much to see to try and fix? You have alpha test settings, so you are using a black / white alpha channel for transparency? If you turn the Framebuffer to default (one / zero) does it look any better? DX11 handles transparency differently.

Posted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 4:14 pm
by djlm
Hello Max,



Changing "Destination Blend" to ZERO and "Source Blend" to ONE solved the tree and fence issue. For the jetway I made the inside non-transparent as it's 2 separate textures.



For the ground poly I had to make some changes to the layer number otherwise the shadow would not cast, but in the end we got it spot on.



The shadow rendering is spectacular and gives a totally new immersion. Here is a little something of our most recent release now Prepar3d v2 compatible:



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EwTZJnHnIgk



Best Regards,



Leandro Machado

Posted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 4:26 pm
by Max Perry
Those buildings and that ground poly look great! What are you using to alter the layer numbers for ground polys?



You could utilize the new Z-bias material setting to set the material's layer offset in the material directly in 3dsMax. This is a new system that doesn't require old FSX sdk tools. The Z-bias material flag has a new section in the SDK docs for more info. I've used it for a few airports already so if you have questions about let me know.

Posted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 6:28 pm
by djlm
Hi Max,



The ground is the only part that still uses the old "fs2002 gamepack hack", so it's the code within an asm file (the trick made famous at fsdeveloper.com) and not any material setting. I believe it's the LayerCall function.



So using the z-bias in the material I could now export with the p3d v2 gamepack and it will not flicker with the ground like an FSX gamepack MDL?



If so, then this is wonderful as a lack of true ground poly for the past couple of simulators have left us developers crazy.



I'll check this out.



Best Regards,



Leandro Machado

Posted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 11:24 am
by EmilG


Quote:

Quote from Orswell on November 27, 2013, 16:26

Those buildings and that ground poly look great! What are you using to alter the layer numbers for ground polys?



You could utilize the new Z-bias material setting to set the material's layer offset in the material directly in 3dsMax. This is a new system that doesn't require old FSX sdk tools. The Z-bias material flag has a new section in the SDK docs for more info. I've used it for a few airports already so if you have questions about let me know.




On those ground polys, from some limited testing I did there is quite a lot of flickering between layers. Do you usually add some physical space between those or is the z-bias enough to 'separate' those textures?