Adding your own Imagery (and other content)

Discussion related to terrain/scenery design.
User avatar
Leo Salemann
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:41 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Postby Leo Salemann » Sun Oct 24, 2010 4:09 pm

Hello All,



We recently received an enquiry about adding real-world terrain imagery to the Prepar3D globe. Thought I'd post the answer to the forum, for those who may be new to terrain customization.



The Prepar3D SDK provides a tool called resample.exe that lets you add imagery and elevation data to the Prepar3D globe. It’s typically used at the local to region level.



Vector and 3d model data can be added in using similar techniques, with a tool called shp2vec.exe



-- Leo
Prepar3D® Sales Engineer

Orsor
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 12:26 am

Postby Orsor » Tue Nov 02, 2010 10:27 am

Leo, 3d model data, such as landmark buildings will be placed using .xml source containing the location, and model information and compiled into bgl using bglcomp tool found in the Prepar3D SDK.


Return to “Scenery Development Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests