[RESOLVED] How to set alpha texture for a model in 3ds max?

Discussion related to terrain/scenery design.
han.rohana
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 7:37 am

[RESOLVED] How to set alpha texture for a model in 3ds max?

Postby han.rohana » Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:13 am

Hi all,

I've been trying to apply alpha texture onto a model in 3ds max 2014.
I have these files :

1024x1024 rgb bmp - convert to DXT5 dds
1024x1024 rgba bmp - convert to DXT5 dds
1024x1024 alpha bmp 8 bit grayscale. - convert to DXT1 dds

This is what I've tried.

Diffuse texture - rgba file
Opacity texture - alpha file

Set the Framebuffer Blend dialog to:
Source Blend - SrcAlpha
Destination Blend - InvSrcAlpha

What did I do wrong? I've tried using rgb, rgba, alpha in various combination but failed. Some even show correct mapping in 3Ds Max, but opaque in P3D.

Btw, is there any tutorial that I can refer to on 3Ds Max for P3D? I've searched youtube, but not so helping.

Thank you for your responses.

Clifton Crane
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1043
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 2:34 pm

Re: How to set alpha texture for a model in 3ds max?

Postby Clifton Crane » Mon Apr 16, 2018 2:15 pm

Hi han.rohana,

Have you tried setting the "Blend Diffuse by Diffuse Alpha" check box? The Learning Center has several material/texture samples in the "Modeling Materials" article.

Thanks.
Clifton Crane
Prepar3D® Software Engineer Sr.

han.rohana
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 7:37 am

Re: How to set alpha texture for a model in 3ds max?

Postby han.rohana » Fri Apr 20, 2018 8:19 am

Thanx! It works.

But I have to check the "Blend diffuse by diffuse alpha" and "Z-Test Alpha" in Material Alpha Test with Alpha test mode set to "Greater". Otherwise, the texture will be alpha, but also see through... meaning that I can still see the object behind it eg: clouds.
I'm not sure what is the reason.


Return to “Scenery Development Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests