CTD when line up

For all topics that don't fit into another category. Note that we cannot promise that any of these posts will be responded to by our development team.
Kolos
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2020 12:27 pm

Re: CTD when line up

Postby Kolos » Tue Sep 08, 2020 9:32 am

*1.78 ADE

*Aligned cross runway operations 16L takeoff, 22/23 for landing.
Using ADE default scenery library for buildings, modified taxiways, aprons, etc nothing special but essentialy important to fit my charts.


Now CTD's causing full computer restart!
(It never happened before)

Event viewer cause:
"kernel-power"

Kolos
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2020 12:27 pm

Re: CTD when line up

Postby Kolos » Mon Sep 14, 2020 4:16 pm

I have found out two types of CTD:

No.1:

Suspect that main CPU overheat. Since I have set maximum fan speed for cooling in BIOS, CTD's do not occur during cruise
/so seems to be not P3D issue/

No.2:
Tokyo Haneda tower frequency from one day to another changes to some different frequency. When I pick it up and trying to
make contact with tower, P3D crashes. (Of course because that tower frequency definitely does not belongs to RJTT Haneda. But from where it comes from and why?) If I resume to default scenery same happens, so ADE should not be guilty. In my previous topic, already mentioned that sometimes any part of Japan, ATC instructs me to contact "Tokushima approach" which is totally crazy when flying several miles away from Tokushima.... This shows some typical P3D issue deep inside the program, instead of USB devices, addons etc. Something is going wrong with ATC in Japanese area.

Can I have some advice how to proceed?

Kolos
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2020 12:27 pm

Re: CTD when line up

Postby Kolos » Wed Nov 18, 2020 7:16 pm

Dear P3D team,

After 1.5 months siming without problem, crash to desktops have started again.
Last week there were a windows update, unfortunately forgot to disable auto update.

I have uninstalled the win10 update parts, but no success.
Then installed latest video card driver, no success.

For now CTD cause no PC restart. Only P3D exits, PC keeps running.
In the last few days several CTDs happened.
CTD occurs somewhere 2 to 2.5 hours from the beginning of my flights. Cruising level.

Any help would be appreciated

User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 2959
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: CTD when line up

Postby JorgenSA » Thu Nov 19, 2020 7:51 am

What does Windows Event Viewer tell you?

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Kolos
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2020 12:27 pm

Re: CTD when line up

Postby Kolos » Thu Nov 19, 2020 8:54 am

Dear Jorgen,

Here we go:

Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 4.5.14.34698, time stamp: 0x5e94b5c2
Faulting module name: KERNELBASE.dll, version: 10.0.18362.1139, time stamp: 0xa8b891f5
Exception code: 0xc0020001
Fault offset: 0x0000000000043b29
Faulting process id: 0x1f98
Faulting application start time: 0x01d6bdc172ed92ea
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\System32\KERNELBASE.dll
Report Id: 34fa10d0-538c-4808-beb5-2e30254467fe
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 2959
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: CTD when line up

Postby JorgenSA » Thu Nov 19, 2020 1:59 pm

You'll need to google "kernelbase.dll error", "kernelbase.dll p3d" or similar strings, and then wade through a multitude of possible causes and fixes for this one.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Kolos
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2020 12:27 pm

Re: CTD when line up

Postby Kolos » Thu Nov 19, 2020 8:13 pm

😀😀

User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 2959
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: CTD when line up

Postby JorgenSA » Fri Nov 20, 2020 8:21 am

Yes, I agree... the kernelbase.dll error is really a pain - been there, done that and bought too many T-shirts....

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Kolos
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2020 12:27 pm

Re: CTD when line up

Postby Kolos » Sun Dec 20, 2020 7:47 pm

Hi all,

If anyone interested in, I can share my troubleshooting experiences about "kernelbase.dll" issue:

Just like many times, in many cases the solution is very simple, but nobody warned me:

Check registry keys!!

Download and run any registry cleaner program. In my case, It had found some .net frameworks related registry errors.
I don't know what is it, but I do know it's very important for P3D addons. Since they are fixed, sim runs smoothly.

Safe flight!

[SOLVED]

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10556
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: CTD when line up

Postby Martyson » Sun Dec 20, 2020 7:55 pm

Hi all,

If anyone interested in, I can share my troubleshooting experiences about "kernelbase.dll" issue:

Just like many times, in many cases the solution is very simple, but nobody warned me:

Check registry keys!!

Download and run any registry cleaner program. In my case, It had found some .net frameworks related registry errors.
I don't know what is it, but I do know it's very important for P3D addons. Since they are fixed, sim runs smoothly.

Safe flight!

[SOLVED]
@ Kolos ,

Glad to hear your problem is resolved.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)


Return to “Miscellaneous”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 41 guests